How do you rip Dual-Layer?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by djcraze, Jul 6, 2008.

Jul 6, 2008

How do you rip Dual-Layer? by djcraze at 8:52 PM (1,448 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. djcraze
    OP

    Newcomer djcraze Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    So, I have noticed that tons of people have been able to rip dual-layer discs for the Wii, but have also noticed that there is trouble doing so?

    IS there some special technique to ripping Dual-Layer or is it just as simple as opening Raw Dump 2.1 and go?


    Thanks for your time,
    Kyle
     
  2. BigX

    Member BigX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    292
    Location:
    over there
    Country:
    Canada
    well my copy of Brawl is still in the mail (for over a week now) :-S but as soon I'll receive it...I'm giving it a try...
    I don't know why it shouldn't work...
    the dvd reader should be able to read both layer and rawdump surely addresses the data via sectors (and should read the # of sector from the inserted media)....but that's all theory by now :-p
     
  3. Sportsmaniac1322

    Member Sportsmaniac1322 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Forman's Basement
    Country:
    United States
    I'm pretty sure its impossible to dump dual-layer right now, because the dumper only dumps the 1st layer. The only way to play a backup of Brawl right now is to get your hands on a PAL Super Smash Bros. ISO and burn it on a dual layer disc. Anybody, correct me if I'm wrong! [​IMG]
     
  4. Kiljaeden

    Member Kiljaeden GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Sydney
    Country:
    Australia
  5. wabo

    Member wabo GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,082
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
  6. BigX

    Member BigX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    292
    Location:
    over there
    Country:
    Canada
    FYI: rawdumb 2.0 doesn't work for me on DL
     
  7. Kiljaeden

    Member Kiljaeden GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    Just dumped SSBB 7.92GB iso using Friidump. Took about 8 hours on a GDR-8163B
     

Share This Page