Hacking How do you reboot to hekate? And several other questions.

miss_nakano

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2016
Messages
179
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
963
Country
Australia
Its been a while since I played my switch. I've just updated the firmware, ams, hekate, etc to the latest version by doing fresh install(deleted almost all old config files). For some reason, when I reboot to payloads, the switch seems to reboot to ams immediately whereas before I did these fresh updates, it would reboot me to hekate menu(which is what I want). How do you set reboot to payloads to hekate instead of ams?

Its been a while.. how have mariko, lite and ipatched hacking scenes progressed? Can these be hacked easily now? or is the unpatched switch still the best switch for hacking purpose?

Thanks!
 

Dust2dust

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2010
Messages
1,678
Trophies
1
XP
2,622
Country
Canada
In the atmosphere folder, there is a file called reboot_payload.bin. Delete it and replace with the latest hekate payload (hekate_ctcaer_5.3.2.bin), and rename that as reboot_payload.bin. Problem solved.
Unpatched Switch still the best. The others need a modchip installed.
 

miss_nakano

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2016
Messages
179
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
963
Country
Australia
In the atmosphere folder, there is a file called reboot_payload.bin. Delete it and replace with the latest hekate payload (hekate_ctcaer_5.3.2.bin), and rename that as reboot_payload.bin. Problem solved.
Unpatched Switch still the best. The others need a modchip installed.

Thanks for your help! Didnt know about that perhaps it was kosmos that did it for me before. I see that unpatched is still the best..I'd hope to buy another switch(mariko for the better battery) as back up because I fear that my unpatched will become rare. Using Modchip.. is it hard mod? Is it expensive? Will it force you to use sx os?

Thanks again.
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
17,354
Trophies
2
XP
16,536
Country
United States
A patched Switch on 4.1 that has never connected to the internet can run CFW without a modchip. All other patched systems, Mariko units, and Lites require a modchip.
 
  • Like
Reactions: miss_nakano

miss_nakano

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2016
Messages
179
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
963
Country
Australia
Thanks guys for the consoles infos. Mariko or ipatched?such dilemma! Perhaps I can find another unpatched but very doubtful about it.
 

FrienemyStand

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 5, 2021
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
20
Country
United States
In the atmosphere folder, there is a file called reboot_payload.bin. Delete it and replace with the latest hekate payload (hekate_ctcaer_5.3.2.bin), and rename that as reboot_payload.bin. Problem solved.
Unpatched Switch still the best. The others need a modchip installed.
Does it matter if the renamed hekate payload is capitalized? for some reason it wont let me NOT capitalize the file name.
 

Dust2dust

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2010
Messages
1,678
Trophies
1
XP
2,622
Country
Canada
Does it matter if the renamed hekate payload is capitalized? for some reason it wont let me NOT capitalize the file name.
Absolutely no idea, as I never tried. That's a weird issue. I would just rename it on the computer, and then copy the file to the SD card.
 

FrienemyStand

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 5, 2021
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
20
Country
United States
Ok, so I just tried to copy my cfw sysnand to a cfw sysnand and back up the sysnand, but it failed saying the boot files werent found even though I put them in sd card\backup\f263ba14. What do I do?
Edit: I didnt have them in the correct folder, all good! How do I delete this?
 

FrienemyStand

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 5, 2021
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
20
Country
United States
I'm trying to convert my sysnand to emunand so I can go online without getting banned, but when I try booting into hekate, I get an error message saying to update my bootloader folder. I had it working perfectly before I partitioned my sd card. What am I doing wrong?
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot (52).png
    Screenshot (52).png
    251.2 KB · Views: 12
  • Screenshot (53).png
    Screenshot (53).png
    252.7 KB · Views: 10
  • Screenshot (54).png
    Screenshot (54).png
    247.4 KB · Views: 10
  • Screenshot (55).png
    Screenshot (55).png
    247.9 KB · Views: 9
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: https://brobible.com/culture/article/burt-reynolds-pontiac-firebird-for-sale/?fr=operanews