How do you know if an iso has been scrubbed or not?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by player0, Nov 12, 2008.

  1. player0
    OP

    Member player0 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    Like I know a full size ROM is 4.38GB
    If it is smaller than 4GB after RARed, I am 100% sure it has been scrubbed
    (I can even bet my xx that a 1:1 backup can not be smaller than 4GB after RARed [​IMG] )

    but how about 4.1GB? 4.2GB? 4.3GB
    that means using file size after RARed is not a good way to determine

    so how would you test if an iso has been scrubbed or not?
    is there an option in the WIIScrubber program to test this?
    thank you
     
  2. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    why would you need to know anyway, anything scrubbed works [​IMG]
     
  3. player0
    OP

    Member player0 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    hummm, although you have a different point of view
    anything scrubbed is potentially detectable by Nintendo in future IOS update
    it may work...FOR NOW

    it is always a safe and the best practice to keep only 1:1 copy
     
  4. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    like you know...... don't update, when there's nothing to update for!
    And potentially detectable lol, so what what they going to do send a update to your wii and blow the bugger to pieces [​IMG] hey that would be cool

    They wont do nothing, nothing can stop playing games, only way is preventing stuff for backup loaders etc.
     
  5. player0
    OP

    Member player0 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    I agree that 90% of time you do not want an update
    and 8% of time you need an update for a new game
    there is also a 2% of time you want DLC, which connects to official servers

    among those, who knows what will be done in the background by Nintendo (c.f. Microsoft)
     
  6. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What big feature could we gain from a stupid Nintendo update?.........Nothing
     
  7. player0
    OP

    Member player0 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    So still, there are DLCs

    And with the release of Call of Duty, online play is another instance where connection to Nintendo is required.

    Your way of gaming is invincible if you do not care DLCs and online play
     
  8. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's not like they will ban you, i play all Wifi connectable games with my modded wii, play all wiiware games that have required WIFI, never ever had a problem with connecting or with their servers,
    only issue is fifa09, some players on their must have bad connections or its the servers... [​IMG]
     
  9. Majin Vegeta

    Member Majin Vegeta GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    Germany
    Scrubbed ISOs can be blocked, that's the point. And sometimes you have to update to get the newest games to work.

    I don't know of a good way to check if it's scrubbed or not... You could open it in some HEX-Editor and look for a lot of "FF"s, if there are a lot then its scrubbed.
     
  10. player0
    OP

    Member player0 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    May be
    Like I said, Wiiscrubbed only works FOR NOW
    M$ did not start banning people at first

    What gives you a peace of mind is 1:1 copy

    So back to the topic
     
  11. player0
    OP

    Member player0 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    Yeah, thanks for the tips.

    But WiiScrubber also works in "00"s
    somehow, an original also has lots of "00"s although not "FF"s

    But thanks anyway
     
  12. DarkSzero

    Newcomer DarkSzero Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    Four different Wii Games, non-scrubbed from the "official" scene releases:
    Samba_De_Amigo_USA_Wii-VORTEX: 4.507.603.621 bytes total
    Star.Wars.The.Force.Unleashed.USA.Wii-FATAL: 4.569.053.278 bytes
    Trauma.Center.New.Blood.USA.Wii-MARVEL: 4.448.862.641 bytes
    Wario_Land_Shake_It_USA_Wii-VORTEX: 4.699.989.834 bytes

    In GB:
    Samba: 4,20 GB
    Star Wars: 4,25 GB
    Trauma: 4,14 GB
    Wario Land: 4,37 GB

    If the iso is more than 4 GB compacted, your best hope is to use a HEX editor...
     
  13. azoreseuropa

    Member azoreseuropa GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,490
    Location:
    I am deaf and live in the USA for now :D
    Country:
    Portugal
    I was told that if you compressed scrubbed version to 1gb then it is scrubbed. The Wii games would never compress to 1gb if it weren't scrubbed. Is that true ?

    Therefore, I go ahead with a windhex and I dont see alots of FFF's in Klonoa Door to Phantomile Wii TMD version.. Does that mean it is unscrubbed ?
     
  14. legoblocks

    Newcomer legoblocks Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Canada
    Scrubbing replaces the empty part of an ISO with 0 bits so that you can compress the empty data better. Normally 1:1 copies have the empty part of the ISO with encrypted/non-consistent bits that can't be compressed as well. I personally don't see Nintendo ever trying to read the empty part of the DVD and checking to see if it's consistent 0 bits or the original encrypted empty data. IMO it's a huge waste of bandwidth to download/upload 4.3Gb when the game is 1-2Gb.
     
  15. azoreseuropa

    Member azoreseuropa GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,490
    Location:
    I am deaf and live in the USA for now :D
    Country:
    Portugal
    TMD version is scrubbed, right ?
     
  16. Joey90

    Member Joey90 Not around any more

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I believe there is at least one game (possibly puzzle quest) which unlike most games has it's empty space filled by 0s. This means that it would be very difficult to detect without disturbing it.

    In any case, I doubt Nintendo will implement checks on a disc for regions of 0's. It just doesn't seem like a reliable method.

    Even if they do I bet a way around it will be found.
     
  17. mikeyt1998

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,359
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    LMAO roms...

    what about NFSU? disc read error 002? doesnt that mean that an update is needed?

    i dont think that was made very clear to me... i know you have to install certain IOS but i couldnt find out which ones lol i dont have it but i'm just worried about what will happen if a game i do want to play turns like this and i cant find a fix for it...

    also how to obtain the IOSs too... wouldnt have a clue.
     
  18. Kokorazashi

    Member Kokorazashi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I saw Animal Crossing LGttC and it was only 600mb or so. o.O
     

Share This Page