How do you get ScummVM DS running on EZ4?

Discussion in 'EZ-Flash' started by CWar, Jun 26, 2006.

Jun 26, 2006
  1. CWar
    OP

    Member CWar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Singapore
    Does it even work? I'm using EZ4 Lite and Superkey combo. I tried transfering the compiled file in .nds, .nd.gba, using the explorer and ez4 client. All didn't work. If I transfer using the explorer in .nds, a white screen comes up. In .nd.gba in explorer and client, the GBA intro comes up, but then gets stuck there. Transfering .nds using the client doesn't work at all as it crashes open sending. Help.
     


  2. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,438
    Featured Posts:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have had it working on my EZ4 for a while now so yes it does work, you will need to mkae the file up and transfer it via explorer (EZ4 client will try and patch the rom which will break it).
    I used these instructions (winzip was the cause of a few people's troubles but I use 7zip so it was all good):
    * Download the binary release of ScummVM DS from this page. Unzip the archive into a folder.
    * Store your game files into a zip file, making sure to choose the 'No compression' option. If you don't do this, it won't work. If you have more than one game, put them in different folders in the ZIP.
    * Check to see whether the games you have are supported by build A or B, using the table of supported games below. You cannot mix games from builds A and B in the same Zip.
    * Put the zip file into the directory with ScummVM DS, calling it 'scummdata-a.zip' or 'scummdata-b.zip', depending on which build you're using. Make sure the games will fit on your flash card. The total size off the games cannot exceed 30Mb because of the limitation of the GBA cart bus.
    * Double click on the builddata-a.bat or builddata-b.bat as appropriate file to build your ROM image
    * Using your GBA flash cartridge software, burn 'scummvm-a-widthdata.ds.gba' or 'scummvm-b-withdata.ds.gba' onto your flash cartridge.
    * Boot your GBA using PassMe, FlashMe, or WiFiMe as appropriate
    * Enjoy!

    If it doesn't work, check that your ZIP file is built with no compression!

    For anyone wondering, SCUMMVMDS homepage:
    http://scummvm.drunkencoders.com/
     
  3. CWar
    OP

    Member CWar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Singapore
    Didn't work. Do I have to use .nds or .ds.gba? Using .nds, it just gets stuck on the loader. Using .ds.gba, it's just stuck on the GBA intro.

    I already used Store as the compression method using 7zip, then compiled it using the correct build (A in this case for Sam & Max).
     
  4. VomitOnLino

    Newcomer VomitOnLino Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Germany
    I think you need to use the bog-standard zip, worked for me and my ez4lite. Altough I haven't tried Sam&Max yet. But Monkey Island 1+2, Beneath A Steel Sky, Indy 3+4 and Day of The Tentacle work just dandy.
     
  5. CWar
    OP

    Member CWar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Singapore
    So how exactly do I get this the bog standard zip? I assume store would be no compression, since the others are like, normal, ultra, medium, etc. as in winrar and 7zip programs. I tried just uploading the non compiled file, scummvm-a.ds.gba. It always gets stuck on the GBA intro. And the other one, scummvm-a.nds, gets stuck in the EZ4 loader. I've downloaded the latest ScummVM DS v0.61, and the latest EZ4 loader v1.66.
     
  6. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,438
    Featured Posts:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG]

    This is what my 7zip compression looked like when I done it, I have not tired Sam and Max but the monkey island (1 and 2) games worked fine.
     
  7. CWar
    OP

    Member CWar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Singapore
    yup, that's what I did as well, it's a no go. Have you tried putting the scummvm-a.ds.gba into EZ4 to see if it loads? Because even the core file wouldn't load on mine.
     
  8. res1

    Newcomer res1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Sweden
    Have the exact same problem as Cwar, and zipped Indy 4 with 7zip with the settings displayed in FAST6191's post.
     
  9. RedIce

    Member RedIce GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    268
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Country:
    Portugal
    btw, can anyone tell me what to do with the humongous audio?
    The realeases i have of DOTT and Sam and Max have huge monster.sog files, which are well above 30 megs... can anyone tip me off in the right direction for this please?
     
  10. ZildjianKX

    Member ZildjianKX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    280
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    Does saving work for anyone? I seem to only be able to save to SRAM, and never to an actual file, so when the SRAM is cleared, the gamesave is gone... is there a work around for the EZ?
     
  11. CWar
    OP

    Member CWar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Singapore
    Would you mind telling us how you managed to get it to work? Unless you're not using EZ4.
     
  12. redefinedx

    Newcomer redefinedx Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    patch with the ez4 client and saves will be copied to the card
    i have gotten beneath a steel sky nontalkie to work but i can only save once, the second time i try to save it locks up. might work better with other games
     
  13. ZildjianKX

    Member ZildjianKX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    280
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    I just followed the directions from above. Used WinRAR to make a non-compressed zip file with monkey island 2's files, ran the bat file, uploaded the .gba version, ran fine.

    Edit - There really is no point of running ScummVM on the EZ if saves don't work anyways.
     
  14. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,640
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    I tried what redefinedx did with Monkey Island 2 and works and saves fine. The same goes for saving in SNESDS [​IMG]
     
  15. CWar
    OP

    Member CWar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Singapore
    So let me get this straight.

    1. Store games in zip, no compression..... check
    2. Compile games using the correct zip name and loader...... check
    3. Transfer game to card via explorer...... check
    4. Load in EZ4 using NDS loader..... stuck in GBA intro

    Anyone have any clue why this is happening? Others seems to have no problem with it, other than me and res1. The games work on the PC ScummVM. I've re-downloaded the ScummVM DS, still didn't work.
     
  16. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,640
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    First of all, are you using ScummVM DS 0.4 (newer versions won't work with EZ4).
    1. and 2. are ok. But do this next:
    3. Open the *.ds.gba file in EZ4Client, enter a name, click add save patch and select SRAM. Rename the output .gba to .ds.gba and the output .sav to .ds.sav.
    4. is ok again

    That should do it with saving. Good luck [​IMG]
     
  17. redefinedx

    Newcomer redefinedx Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    im running .61 on my ez4 [​IMG]
    is there anyway to run talkie versions on the ez4?
     
  18. ZildjianKX

    Member ZildjianKX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    280
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    Umm... I got the latest ScummVM working last night on my EZ.
     
  19. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,640
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    As far as I know SRAM saving is broken in the latest release, at least on M3 SD. It runs, but it doesn't save properly (only on CF)... [​IMG]
     
  20. ZildjianKX

    Member ZildjianKX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    280
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    Do you know the latest version that does save properly?
     

Share This Page

Loading...