How do you get GBA/DS ROMs to work on...

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by GrnMoo, Jun 14, 2008.

  1. GrnMoo
    OP

    GrnMoo Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jun 7, 2008
    United States
    How do you get GBA/DS ROMs to work on a Slot 1 Games and Music?
    Is there a way I can play GBA and/or DS ROMs on my DS Lite?
     


  2. Destructobot

    Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Member
    5,005
    5
    Oct 15, 2006
    United States
    Portland, OR
    Like all of Datel's products, the GnM is not designed to run commercial games. You can get around this to some extent, but it's a fairly involved process and you won't be able to run a lot of games. You cannot run GBA games from any slot 1 flashcart.

    You need a real flashcart like the CycloDS Evolution, Acekard 2, Supercard DS One, M3 Real, etc. if you want to play DS games without a lot of trouble. If you want to play GBA games you will need a slot 2 flashcart like the M3 Perfect or EZ-Flash IV, or a GBA expansion pack like the EZ-Flash 3-in-1.
     
  3. GrnMoo
    OP

    GrnMoo Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jun 7, 2008
    United States
    Oh, so you can't play a GBA game on a Slot-1. [​IMG]
    Well, how do you play a DS ROM on DS? [​IMG]
     
  4. Narin

    Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Former Staff
    2,624
    25
    Feb 19, 2008
    United States
    N, you can play DS games on a lot 1, just not Games and Music
     
  5. TheWingless

    TheWingless Wafuu~

    Member
    1,034
    0
    Jan 29, 2008
    United States
    Pretty much any slot 1 cart or slot 2 cart with a nopass/passme/flashme.
     
  6. SleepingDragon

    SleepingDragon GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    770
    0
    Apr 30, 2008
    United States
    P3X-719
    Cyclo DS + EZ-Flash 3 in 1 = Fun
     
  7. Destructobot

    Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Member
    5,005
    5
    Oct 15, 2006
    United States
    Portland, OR
    Get these (and a good microSD card if you've only got the crappy one that came with your GnM) and you'll be set.
     
  8. GrnMoo
    OP

    GrnMoo Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jun 7, 2008
    United States
    Well, I can't really afford all that great stuff, is there a way I can just play a DS ROM on GnM alone?
     
  9. Destructobot

    Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Member
    5,005
    5
    Oct 15, 2006
    United States
    Portland, OR
    After doing a bit of Googling it turns out I was thinking of the Max Media Dock, not the Games 'n' Music. I don't know if it's really possible to play commercial games on the GnM at all, but it looks doubtful.
     
  10. Sephi

    Sephi fool

    Member
    1,850
    4
    Jan 21, 2008
    United States
    Rhode Island
    the Acekard 2 is only $23.00 on dealextreme.com surely if you could afford a GnM, you could get this. (shipping is free)
     
  11. GrnMoo
    OP

    GrnMoo Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jun 7, 2008
    United States
    I think I asked this three times before :|...
    ...HOW do I make DS ROMs work on my DS with ONLY GnM?
     
  12. DarkCrudus

    DarkCrudus The Ghost

    Member
    1,024
    42
    Apr 15, 2007
    United States
    Minnesota
    i dont think you can

    you should just get a supercard of deal extreme for $28.40
    http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.5097
    a 2gb memory card off new egg for $7.75 + $5.99 shipping
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16820208244

    total of $42.14

    and if u want to play gba get an ez flash 3in1 off deal extreme for 18.99
    http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.1894

    new total of $61.13



    EDIT: wat i did to get money was sell all my ds/gba games since i wouldnt need them anymore
     
  13. Destructobot

    Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Member
    5,005
    5
    Oct 15, 2006
    United States
    Portland, OR
    I think we can all stop suggesting flashcart purchases now.
     
  14. GrnMoo
    OP

    GrnMoo Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jun 7, 2008
    United States
    Ok, nevermind. :|
    But thanks for the help anyways. [​IMG]
     
  15. Diablo1123

    Diablo1123 Newcomer

    Member
    1,432
    0
    Mar 9, 2008
    United States
    Underground
    ...
     
  16. DanTheManMS

    DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Member
    4,330
    107
    Jun 2, 2007
    United States
    Georgia
    You CAN'T. That's how. You can check the Datel forums at Maxconsole if you want, but you're not going to find anything. The slot-2 Datel products can run some DS games through the use of the Arm7 fix (aka the Max Crass Method) and the Max Overload patcher, but the GnM has nothing. You chose the one device that can't run any commercial DS games at all.

    This is why you do research on a product before you buy it.
     
  17. GrnMoo
    OP

    GrnMoo Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jun 7, 2008
    United States
    I found out you can use Demos and play them (The ones from the Wi-Fi Center in Walmart) by downloading them. Why can you do this but not play the regular ones? Does it have to do with the format of something?
     
  18. Giga_Gaia

    Giga_Gaia Shinigami

    Member
    1,301
    40
    Sep 12, 2006
    Canada
    Quebec, Canada
    Just buy a real flashcart. Not pricey at all, like other said.
     
  19. Destructobot

    Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Member
    5,005
    5
    Oct 15, 2006
    United States
    Portland, OR
    Those demos are designed to be loaded entirely into RAM and run from there. If they work on the GnM it's probably because they never try to access the cart after they've been loaded.
     
  20. bigburito

    bigburito Newbie

    Newcomer
    3
    0
    Oct 2, 2007
    United States
    actually if you use Max Overload you can run DS roms on the GnM (the unhacked version might not work so if it doesn't try the triforce hacked version...) I have also heard from a forum member on another forum that Max Overload works on the R4 (why he tested it who knows [​IMG] )