how do you FAT format the SD card?

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by sicksam1984, Oct 12, 2006.

Oct 12, 2006
  1. sicksam1984
    OP

    Newcomer sicksam1984 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ive read about this but im not sure exactly what it means, the purpose or how to do it. i got my M3 yesterday and i have been able to save NDS games too it and play them almost perfectly ( star fox comand wouldnt load)

    is my SD card already formatted? would there be any advantage in me formating it?
     
  2. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    www.m3wiki.com, look under card compatibility, people have gotten better performance out of ds games by formatting it fat16 with 64k cluster. M3 will support fat16 or fat32 so no matter how your memory came formatted, it will work but may not be the best format.

    How to do it, go under control panels, admin tools, computer manager, then use disk management and select format and you can select cluster size as well as fat type.

    Next time use the search button to answer these questions that has come up over and over.
     
  3. Saturnplanet5

    Member Saturnplanet5 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    652
    Country:
    Australia
    Or put your SD card in your SD card reader/writer then right-click on the drive, choose FORMAT and go from there.
     
  4. meteora91

    Newcomer meteora91 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Depends what size.
    This is what i've gathered.

    If you play gba roms quite a lot.
    FAT32 8192kb clusters is for you.

    If not, and if you're bothered by the Castlevania intro skipping.
    FAT16 64Kb clusters is for you.

    Sorry if my units aren't correct.

    EDIT: (This is on a Sandisk 1GB card) =P But i think they should work for most cards.
    Consult the wiki as posted above.
     
  5. XeNoGeaR

    Member XeNoGeaR GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    324
    Location:
    Monnickendam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    64k cluster size for the win!
     
  6. Vincent Vega

    Member Vincent Vega GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    Brazil
    I think cluster size doesn´t matter as the latest M3 Game Manager has the 8xDMA hidden feature. Writing a DS ROM with 4xDMA, if ROM supports it will write in 8xDMA.
     
  7. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    it does matter, there is a difference the default cluster size vs 64k (or anything larger than default). This can be clearly seen in Castlevania intro tests.
     
  8. Mucuna

    Member Mucuna GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    363
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    I got my M3 MiniSD past week (YAY!). The 1st thing I did was update it.

    Already flashed the DS and formated my generic 2gb MiniSD using Fat32.

    Beautiful.

    Everything worked in the first attemp. Every games I wrote in the MiniSD works really nice, no slow downs.

    By the way, it is the translucide/dark version of M3 MiniSD.
     
  9. sicksam1984
    OP

    Newcomer sicksam1984 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hmm all i can format it too is

    FAT
    FAT32
    NTFS

    which should i use? how do i FAT16 it?
     
  10. crafton48

    Member crafton48 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    FAT is FAT16
     
  11. lookout

    Member lookout GBAtemp Board Room

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,619
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    that right.
     
  12. Foppzter

    Member Foppzter GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    754
    Country:
    Sweden
    Have anybody tried using FAT12?
     
  13. sicksam1984
    OP

    Newcomer sicksam1984 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks for the help. got the catlevania movie to work without skipping and all other games seem to work perfectly.
     
  14. iza

    Member iza gbatemp, the new crack

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    700
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    Fat12 limits your filesize or sumething like that
     

Share This Page