Hacking how do you FAT format the SD card?

sicksam1984

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 7, 2006
Messages
33
Trophies
0
XP
120
Country
ive read about this but im not sure exactly what it means, the purpose or how to do it. i got my M3 yesterday and i have been able to save NDS games too it and play them almost perfectly ( star fox comand wouldnt load)

is my SD card already formatted? would there be any advantage in me formating it?
 

tama_mog

Kupo
Member
Joined
May 6, 2006
Messages
1,288
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
251
Country
United States
www.m3wiki.com, look under card compatibility, people have gotten better performance out of ds games by formatting it fat16 with 64k cluster. M3 will support fat16 or fat32 so no matter how your memory came formatted, it will work but may not be the best format.

How to do it, go under control panels, admin tools, computer manager, then use disk management and select format and you can select cluster size as well as fat type.

Next time use the search button to answer these questions that has come up over and over.
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
Or put your SD card in your SD card reader/writer then right-click on the drive, choose FORMAT and go from there.
 

meteora91

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
52
Trophies
0
Location
Sydney, Australia
Website
Visit site
XP
131
Country
Depends what size.
This is what i've gathered.

If you play gba roms quite a lot.
FAT32 8192kb clusters is for you.

If not, and if you're bothered by the Castlevania intro skipping.
FAT16 64Kb clusters is for you.

Sorry if my units aren't correct.

EDIT: (This is on a Sandisk 1GB card) =P But i think they should work for most cards.
Consult the wiki as posted above.
 

Vincent Vega

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2006
Messages
125
Trophies
0
XP
51
Country
Brazil
I think cluster size doesn´t matter as the latest M3 Game Manager has the 8xDMA hidden feature. Writing a DS ROM with 4xDMA, if ROM supports it will write in 8xDMA.
 

tama_mog

Kupo
Member
Joined
May 6, 2006
Messages
1,288
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
251
Country
United States
it does matter, there is a difference the default cluster size vs 64k (or anything larger than default). This can be clearly seen in Castlevania intro tests.
 

Mucuna

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2006
Messages
367
Trophies
0
Age
41
Location
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Website
Visit site
XP
298
Country
Brazil
I got my M3 MiniSD past week (YAY!). The 1st thing I did was update it.

Already flashed the DS and formated my generic 2gb MiniSD using Fat32.

Beautiful.

Everything worked in the first attemp. Every games I wrote in the MiniSD works really nice, no slow downs.

By the way, it is the translucide/dark version of M3 MiniSD.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    AncientBoi @ AncientBoi: My BoyFriend/Lover Has Now passed away. this morning at about 7:30. FUCK...