How do you convert a US save into a EU save?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Cyclone999, May 16, 2008.

May 16, 2008
  1. Cyclone999
    OP

    Newcomer Cyclone999 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Canada
    How do you do that?

    Like: Megaman Battle Network 5: Double Team DS (U).sav
    Into: Megaman Battle Network 5: Double Team DS (E).sav

    NOT RENAMING! Just changing the country....I have both versions, I want to verse my cousin on United States but he has Europe version.....so how do you do this? The games are 100% EXACTLY the same but I once tried connecting the (U) version with the (E) version and nothing happened, there was no signal. Can someone help? I'm a noob when it comes to these stuff....

    P.S. Feel free to move this topic, because I don't know where I should post this....
     
  2. Kaos

    Member Kaos Good show!

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    558
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    If just changing the ROM to an EU version doesn't work, then you'll have to hex-edit the save file. That's a real pain to do, however.
     
  3. Cyclone999
    OP

    Newcomer Cyclone999 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks! I actually found something that made it work!
     
  4. jordanlp

    Member jordanlp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    152
    Country:
    United States
    Don't think you can.
     
  5. Salamantis

    Member Salamantis GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,945
    Country:
    Canada
    What did you do? That might come in handy one day...
     
  6. Cyclone999
    OP

    Newcomer Cyclone999 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, say the U file is like this:
    0150 - Megaman Battle Network 5: Double Team DS (U).sav
    You MUST have both versions of the game. I have (E) and (U)!
    Change the .sav file into the name of the NDS.
    Mine turns into:
    0415 - Megaman Battle Network 5: Double Team DS (E).sav
    If the two games were developed the same, they will have the same data and can read the other save file!
     
  7. Cyclone999
    OP

    Newcomer Cyclone999 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey does anyone recommend any good games that you can download onto the r4 that is good for 10 year old (that isn't me)!
     
  8. azotyp

    Member azotyp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,175
    Location:
    Poland
    Country:
    Poland
    Nintendogs.
     
  9. jordanlp

    Member jordanlp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    152
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, nintendogs is a great series (Is it a series?)

    Posts merged

    that's great. never thought that they were same thing.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Cyclone999
    OP

    Newcomer Cyclone999 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, I never knew too. Because the game holds the same data, they can read each other's saves.
     
  11. krazykirk

    Member krazykirk GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    It really is quite obvious... why would a developer go to all the trouble of changing the save format for exactly the same game? So long as the save name is exactly the same as rom, it will work.

    But congrats on figuring that out [​IMG]
     
  12. Inuyashaz

    Newcomer Inuyashaz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Soul Society
    Country:
    Thailand
    Just rename.

    i've convert It's a wonderful world to The world ends with you

    EX:

    it's a wonderful world.nds
    it's a wonderful world.sav
     
  13. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    Remember though, not all games saves can be switched over to another region, while a majority can simply be renamed and switched over between (U) and (E) release (Possibly (J) releases as well), some may need some editing or simply may not be compatible.
     
  14. Cyclone999
    OP

    Newcomer Cyclone999 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Canada
    Yep, I have to agree. I use (E) and (U) often now, it is becoming a great cycle of hacking (most hacks are United States. so when you have Europe it is very annoying, but then you can switch)
     
  15. Cyclone999
    OP

    Newcomer Cyclone999 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh yeah...P.S.
    Does anyone know how to convert (U) action replay codes into a (E) action replay codes? I'm a megaman fan and I want the codes!
     
  16. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    Short Answer: You can't
     
  17. nicky041192

    Member nicky041192 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,433
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    this site should have a compatibility list to see whether you can just rename the .sav for other regions of games
     

Share This Page