How do you burn an ISO to a DVD+R

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Squirps, Jun 20, 2010.

Jun 20, 2010
  1. Squirps
    OP

    Member Squirps Official Squirps of GBATemp.net™

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    The corner in that dark alley.
    Country:
    United States
    Hi, I noticed that a lot of people say that you should burn ISO images for Wii games to DVD-Rs, but I don't have any of them, I only have DVD+Rs, so I was wondering if it's possible to play the games using DVD+Rs, and are there any special things you need to do to make them playable? I'm asking cuz I got a good iso of SMG2 and I burned it to a DVD+R and I put in the wii and load it w/neogamma r8 and it doesn't work (I have cIOS 249 rev 14 and I installed IOS56_64_v5405.wad onto my wii)...so is there anything else I need to do to make it work? (I chose the "Burn an image" option and burned at 4x, and after all the stuff on the wii, it didn't work...)
     


  2. yobemal

    Member yobemal GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    Here
    Country:
    Norway
    Just burn them as you would with DVD-r's
     
  3. syko5150

    Member syko5150 GBAtemp Syko!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    DVD+R doesnt have enough space to burn a Wii game
     
  4. johncenafan427

    Member johncenafan427 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    Troy, Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    just get some dvd-r's
    then use imgburn.
     
  5. yobemal

    Member yobemal GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    Here
    Country:
    Norway
    the size really depends on the game. and the DVD-R works the same way as the DVD+R
     
  6. johncenafan427

    Member johncenafan427 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    Troy, Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    you should use dvd-r's
    dvd+r's do more damage to the wii than dvd-r's.
     
  7. overlord00

    Member overlord00 A motherfucking birdplane

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    664
    Country:
    Australia
    exactly the same way... although, using imation dvd+r, i have had more bad burns (on average) than dvd-r's...
     
  8. Squirps
    OP

    Member Squirps Official Squirps of GBATemp.net™

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    The corner in that dark alley.
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, my DVD+R's have 4.7 gig each XD....but also, I'm using Nero to burn them, and people say there's something called "booktype" you need to use...? Anyone can explain? I'm asking cuz I got a good iso of SMG2 and I burned it to a DVD+R and I put in the wii and load it w/neogamma r8 and it doesn't work (I have cIOS 249 rev 14 and I installed IOS56_64_v5405.wad onto my wii)...so is there anything else I need to do to make it work?
     
  9. Drag0nflamez

    Member Drag0nflamez GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Verbatim (or that other asian brand) DVD+Rs, then booktype to DVD-ROM and it will actually destroy Error 001 - unlike Zurg with Buzz Lightyear (am i offtopic?)
     
  10. fishykipper

    Member fishykipper pkmn breeder

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    all dvd's, dvd-r, dvd+r, dvd-rw, are all the same size! and they're all compatible with the wii? damage, pretty sure ive been using all different dvd types for a long time now, and my wii works just fine!


    very straight forward process, heres a small google tutorial.

    no idea what a book type is.....nero? no thanks mate!
    download imgburn, it's incredibly easy to use, just drop the .iso on and it'll sort the setting, then burn it up!

    pretty sure nero has loads of different, confusing settings, like this booktype you speak of? why bother i say!
    img burn all the way!!!
     
  11. Drag0nflamez

    Member Drag0nflamez GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ImgBurn has booktype thing. DVD+R booktyped to DVD-ROM is actually better then just a DVD-R [​IMG] it defeats the purpose of the 001 error.
     
  12. Squirps
    OP

    Member Squirps Official Squirps of GBATemp.net™

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    The corner in that dark alley.
    Country:
    United States
    well i want to use nero, so do u know what to do 4 that?
     
  13. Drag0nflamez

    Member Drag0nflamez GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Country:
    Netherlands
    dont use nero please...

    just imgburn and you wont have problems of all this unneeded crap that comes with it.
     
  14. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    Thank god some people still know what they are talking about !!!
     
  15. Squirps
    OP

    Member Squirps Official Squirps of GBATemp.net™

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    The corner in that dark alley.
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using my bro's pc to do this and he'll get pissed if I download anything onto it, but he already has Nero, so I want to use that----its my only option [​IMG]
     
  16. Anorhc

    Member Anorhc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Country:
    United States
    Download imgburn. Install. Burn game with booktype DVD-ROM. Uninstall imgburn.

    Now go.
     
  17. ocdetective

    Member ocdetective GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Yeah either ask him whether you can download it - just assure him its safe (which it is from the original source and recognised mirrors) or just do it sneakily! Using Nero is setting you up for a world of pain and failed burns.
     
  18. Aeladya

    Member Aeladya *mistressOFtheCLOW

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    759
    Location:
    Idaho Falls, ID
    Country:
    United States
    Is DVDX necessary to play backups? (I had to download MH3 cause my sister is using my copy and we wanna play together, but I won't hack her new Wii.) I didn't really install it because I didn't think I would need it.
     
  19. Fudge

    Banned Fudge Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,655
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    No.
     
  20. Aeladya

    Member Aeladya *mistressOFtheCLOW

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    759
    Location:
    Idaho Falls, ID
    Country:
    United States
    Cool, I know that one post with the link above said to download it, but I didn't think it was necessary, wanted to make sure first [​IMG]. Thanks again!
     

Share This Page