How do you back up nand

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Swizler, Aug 6, 2009.

Aug 6, 2009

How do you back up nand by Swizler at 7:25 PM (1,868 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. Swizler
    OP

    Member Swizler GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    San Antonio,Texas
    Country:
    United States
    how do you back up nand?
     
  2. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    1)install bootmii as boot2 (with the hackmii installer), also prepare the SD card (same installer)
    2)Boot the wii with the SD card in
    3)go to NAND backup and make one
     
  3. Swizler
    OP

    Member Swizler GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    San Antonio,Texas
    Country:
    United States
    1. I installed it as IOS
    2. okay
    3. How because my wii mote won't work on it
     
  4. nicky041192

    Member nicky041192 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,433
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    use a GC controller. why did you install it as ios? you want it as boot2 otherwise backing up ypur nand is pretty useless.
     
  5. oxMUDxo

    Member oxMUDxo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    Missouri - USA
    Country:
    United States
    Use power to move reset button on the Wii to select..
    The Nand backup is the 4th option it looks like 2 cogs.
    then select the green arrow.

    If it lets you install it to boot2 you should it the best place for BootMii.
     
  6. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    If you were to read the readme, you would see that a Gamecube controller would work. On the Boot2 version you can use the 'face' buttons on the Wii as well, but this doesn't work on the IOS version that you've installed.
     
  7. oxMUDxo

    Member oxMUDxo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    Missouri - USA
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't know that, about the IOS doesn't use the Wiis power/ reset buttons.. thanks
    I learn something new every day.[​IMG]
     
  8. Swizler
    OP

    Member Swizler GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    San Antonio,Texas
    Country:
    United States
    I installed bootmii as boot2 but now on the homebrew channel menu it doesn't say launch boot mii
     
  9. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    turn your wii off and on. bootmii will then show up
     
  10. Swizler
    OP

    Member Swizler GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    San Antonio,Texas
    Country:
    United States
    tried still not working it is a wii before november 2007
     
  11. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Did you prep an SD card?
     
  12. Swizler
    OP

    Member Swizler GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    San Antonio,Texas
    Country:
    United States
    yeah i did now I got it to work
     
  13. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Ok cool, make a nand dump and likely make a storage of them on your computer saying the System Menu version and IOS history or something. That way if you brick you can go to a safe place by restoring it in the root.
     
  14. Swizler
    OP

    Member Swizler GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    San Antonio,Texas
    Country:
    United States
    ok i made a nand back up but how and why would make a storage of them on your computer saying the System Menu version and IOS history or something?
     
  15. oxMUDxo

    Member oxMUDxo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    Missouri - USA
    Country:
    United States
    It's so you have a safe place for the Nand. I burned my to a Disc and I have a copy on my computer.
    You should make a copy to. Thats what he meant by storing them.

    The Nand will restore your Wii to what ever system menu it was at when you maid the Nand.
    So put it in a folder with your system menu number on it "3.2U 4.0U" so you know what your Wii will be after you use that Nand.
    You don't really need to do this, but it is a smart thing to do.[​IMG]
     
  16. oxMUDxo

    Member oxMUDxo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    Missouri - USA
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry, double post.
    I edited my last post.
     
  17. Swizler
    OP

    Member Swizler GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    San Antonio,Texas
    Country:
    United States
    oh thank you for explaining that
     
  18. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Exactly, for example when I updated from 3.2U to 4.0U, I kept a nand of my Wii from there and also got one after I fixed everything. This way, if I couldn't use 4.1U effectively, I could downgrade. Also, if I needed a new program later that worked only with 3.2U or mainly with it, I could extract and replace my save files later back onto the 3.2U nand and restore that.
     
  19. Swizler
    OP

    Member Swizler GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    San Antonio,Texas
    Country:
    United States
    ah well that makes sense but how often should u back up your nand
     
  20. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    if you're about to do something that could potentially brick your wii
     

Share This Page