How do I use the M3 Real Perfects built-in emulators?

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by leathco, Mar 30, 2008.

  1. leathco
    OP

    Newcomer leathco Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    I haven't found a howto for this yet. I understand the Real Perfect has built in emulators for many systems from the 8-bit era, including the NES, Turbografx-16 (I still consider it 8 bit), Master System, and I think Game Gear. So where would you put the ROM files in order to launch these games?

    Unrelated note, I recently got the M3 Real Perfect pack. I think it's a great package for people wanting to play both DS and GBA games. I own around 30 DS and 50 GBA games, and it's a nice way to carry them all in one package too, as well as try other games to see if they are worth buying.
     
  2. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just put the roms on the cart ... I forget if you need to use generic 64kb save files, renamed to match the roms, to allow saving, sorry ... and they should just run.
     
  3. leathco
    OP

    Newcomer leathco Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    So I just drop the roms in a folder I create (such as /ROMS/NES), browse to the rom and launch it?
     
  4. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep, pretty much ... IIRC
     
  5. leathco
    OP

    Newcomer leathco Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    Gotcha, thanks for the help. Was having problems, could run downloaded emus but not built in ones....kinda odd.
     
  6. linnusx5

    Newcomer linnusx5 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Brazil

    I tried that, but the roms doesn't show up on "My Cart".
     
  7. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I think you will need to launch them via the GBA option.
     
  8. thefunkygibbon

    Newcomer thefunkygibbon Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    ouch.. no dont try that. i just tried that and the rumble pack in my ds just went batshit insane.
     
  9. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The Rumble Pack always does that when you launch a GBA game. The topic starter is talking about the M3 Real Perfect, which means he/she actually has the GBA Expansion Pack.
     
  10. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    i own a m3 lite and i can tell you that the info on the box about built in emulation is not exactly correct. what the firmware allows for is the on-the-fly injecting of roms into the emulators that do not support file browsing. this includes all of the slot2 emulators on the back of the box. you place a copy of the emulator on the m3 lite and the roms you want and the firmware will load the rom with the correct emulator when you select it. it is just injecting 1 rom at a time so that you can play it. I do believe the m3 game manager software will also inject the emulator with the roms and then flash over to your card. i know its either 1 or the other. i always do it by hand using the tools the original coders provided for rom injection, and never the included shortcuts provided by the m3 software.

    personally i think you should read the slot2 emulation thread i wrote: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=77065

    grab the emulators you want to use, inject the roms as described either by the provided links or some google searches. flash them to your slot2 m3 real gba expansion kit and play. it is a little extra effort on your part.

    -another world
     
  11. Githlar

    Newcomer Githlar Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Sorry to dig up an old post, but I ran across this while trying to figure out the builtin M3 Real emulators. For the clarification of others who find this:

    The M3 Real is capable of emulating a couple of systems assuming you have the GBA Expansion from the Perfect bundle. I have found that it is capable of running NES and GBx ROMs. All you have to do to run GBx or NES games is put them in the GBA folder and run them like a GBA game. Both types start by displaying the GBA boot screen, so don't panic when you see that if you're starting a NES game.

    However, it appears that Another World was correct in other aspects. I can't get the M3 Real to recognize a SNES ROM and it wants to load Game Gear/SMS ROMs but fails (It shows a DrSMS splash screen. After pressing a button I get two black screens). This is probably because it's trying to load something from slot 2?
     
  12. LeonardoGolden

    Member LeonardoGolden GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    307
    Country:
    United States
    I just tried this and the screen is completely squashed. The pixels are hard to see [​IMG]
     

Share This Page