How do I update my cIOS with no internet and what do I need for HD Loa

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Shinigami Kiba, Apr 2, 2009.

  1. Shinigami Kiba
    OP

    Member Shinigami Kiba GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    606
    Country:
    Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
    My current Wii specs:
    3.2E
    WiiKey 1.9s

    cIOS249-IOS36-rev07.wad
    cIOS fix

    IOS:
    IOS16-64-v257-prod.wad ( dunno what this does I THINK I installed it tho)
    IOS37-64-v2070.wad
    IOS38-64-v3609.wad
    IOS53-64-v4113.wad
    IOS55-64-v4633.wad

    Now, I know there's a new rev of cios249-ios36 out, either 08 or 09, but I'm not sure how to go about updating this thing manually through the wad manager.
    I guess I should first find and download the WAD for rev08 or rev09 whatever the latest one is, you guys tell me and then what?

    Do I uninstall cIOS249-IOS36-rev07.wad or do I just install the WAD of the latest version over it with WAD manager?

    Also do I need this CIOS to get the USB/HD Loader thing up and running or is there some other cios I need for that?
     
  2. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    get the original ios36 wad file and put in in root of the sd.
    then just the rev9 installer dol file
    with that new cios installed, the iso hdd loader can run
     
  3. Shinigami Kiba
    OP

    Member Shinigami Kiba GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    606
    Country:
    Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
    so it's going to update it to rev9 without connecting to the internet?
    So I just get the original 36, not cios2whatever 360-rev07, put the original wad at the root, run the 9 installed and that's it? No internet no nothing, after that I install the wad for the HD Loader channel, buy an external HDD, copy a bunch of ISOs to it and that's it?
     
  4. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes if you have the ios36 wad (IOS36-64-v1042.wad) on sd, no internet is required.
    After that you can run the HDD loader. Either through the HBC or as a channel.
     
  5. Golfman560

    Member Golfman560 TheRapist.com

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Living with seals
    Country:
    Antarctica
    If you don't have the ios36wad I'm pretty sure FileFront actually has a copy of it.
     
  6. Shinigami Kiba
    OP

    Member Shinigami Kiba GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    606
    Country:
    Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
    thanks guys, I'll get the wad I'm sure it won't be a problem.
    I just have to get the right external HDD for the wii.

    this is friggin AWESOME! I've been waiting for this for so long now, hope it all works out fine for me.

    Posts merged

    Just one more question, can I run games from a USB Flash drive or does it have to be an external USB hard drive? Cause I have some flash drives around, a 16GB one which a friend is going to return tomorrow and an 8GB one I could test this with and see if it's all going to work?
     
  7. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It's not limited to actual hard drives.
    I tested a 2GB Sd-card in an USB-cardreader, that worked perfectly.
    Keep in mind though the device needs to be formatted in a special format (wbfs), this will erase existing data.
     
  8. Golfman560

    Member Golfman560 TheRapist.com

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Living with seals
    Country:
    Antarctica
    And 2GB flash drives are small. You'll want something that is at least 10GB or 20GB
     
  9. Shinigami Kiba
    OP

    Member Shinigami Kiba GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    606
    Country:
    Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
    thanks, I'll test it tomorrow when I get my 16GB Flash drive back and if it all works fine I'll buy the biggest External HDD I can afford.
     
  10. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Pay attention to a few things
    Check this list http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/index.php/USB...patibility_List
    Make sure the device has an USB interface, there are also portable Sata HDD's for example
    You probably want a drive without an external power supply (so it will take all power directly from USB)
     

Share This Page