How do I U/G from Softmod 4.1E to the latest

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by bongo333, Jul 31, 2010.

Jul 31, 2010
  1. bongo333
    OP

    Newcomer bongo333 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Australia
    OK guy and gals could someone please point me in the right direction.
    I currently have a 4.1E Wii and would like to upgrade to the latest WORKING softmodable version.
    Any help would be great.
    Cheers
     
  2. bwillb

    Member bwillb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    620
    Country:
    United States
    you're already on the latest version that has any features whatsoever. 4.2 and 4.3 serve no purpose other than to try to disable softmods.
     
  3. MLRX

    Member MLRX GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    United States
    how come all the stickys use 4.2 instead of 4.1?
     
  4. bwillb

    Member bwillb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    620
    Country:
    United States
    because some people had already nintendo-upgraded to 4.2 before they realized it was useless, I guess. theres no reason to update from 4.1 to 4.2, but if you're at 4.3 or lower than 4.1, it doesn't really matter which you go to between 4.1 and 4.2 if you do everything right.
     
  5. Cobalt-

    Newcomer Cobalt- Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    If you want to upgrade for the Shop Channel or something, just upgrade the Homebrew Channel (should prompt you for this when you enter it) and then upgrade to 4.3.
     
  6. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,538
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    NO, NO, AND NO!!!!! NEVER UPDATE TO 4.3 NINTY!!! Use Dop-Mii or WiiSCU or Dop-SHOP!
    @bongo333: Stick at 4.1, thats the best firmware now.
     
  7. MLRX

    Member MLRX GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    United States
    doesn't MMM let you do that too?
     
  8. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,538
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    [​IMG] Yes, MMM can do that too. You can also use any Wad Manager to install the wad downloaded with NUS Downloader or NUS Auto Downloader.
     

Share This Page