How do I transfer from my pc directly to my ps3 at super speed

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by bjorno, Feb 6, 2011.

  1. bjorno
    OP

    Member bjorno GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    428
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hey guys. I have succesfully setted up a direct connection between my pc and ps3. But here comes the problem. If I want to use the direct connection, I will have to unplug cables everytime and set all those stuff up that costs a lot of time. So I would like to buy an extra ethernet card so I dont have to mess with my normal ethernet card and can just use my bought ethernetcard. I have searched a lot and people seem to recommend gigabit cards with cat 6 cable for ultimate speed. Which cards or cables do you guys recommend? Please dont reply with router solutions because I want a direct connection.

    Thanks for helping.
     
  2. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Forgive me for asking, but is there a specific reason why you don't want to use a router/network hub configuration? There's no difference in speed between a direct connection and connection via gigabit network hub (or gigabit ethernet routers).

    Also, I believe that there's no difference in speed between cat5e and cat6 cables, since PS3 doesn't have 10-gigabit ethernet (which requires cat6).
     
  3. akari212

    Member akari212 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Country:
    Japan
    Well it depends. Some routers enforce QoS per port.. so a decreased performance will be experience. And there's a limited CPU on the router/switch itself, so in case that there are current connection that is been established already on your router/switch which is used by other computers and you transferred files, data traffic will be experince, worst case scenario, a data collision will happened frequently.

    So far its still recommended that if you want a full burst transfer speed, use a Direct Connection.
     
  4. bjorno
    OP

    Member bjorno GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    428
    Country:
    Netherlands
    There is a big difference between speeds. My router is a good one. If I use via router my speed is 1mb/s and if I use direct it becomes 30-50 mb/s.

    So in other words. I have to buy a NIC 1gb/s and a crossover cable.
     
  5. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Strange, I don't share that experience. Copying files via my gigabit router (between two high-specced computers) tends to go at 30-150MBs. I never tried a direct cable (since the second network port of my motherboard was used for sharing internet with Xbox 360), but I don't imagine it would've suddenly given me the full theoretical 1Gbs.
     
  6. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,808
    Country:
    Antarctica
    The ethernet port on a PS3 is only a 10/100 network card. Transfers rates are defined by the lowest speed on your network.

    PC: 1Gb network card
    router: Gigabit network
    PS3: 10/100 nic

    Transfer rates will only go as fast as the PS3 will handle.
     
  7. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    .
    From wiki.
     
  8. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,808
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It doesn't run at any gigabit speeds on my home network. Works more like a 10/100 from the transfer speeds I got.

    They might be using a gigabit controller that uses the base 10 definition of gigabit.
     
  9. synce

    Member synce だいこんちゃんのだいふぁん

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    487
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah I can't understand why but my router speeds are terrible too, like 1MB/s. Direct connect goes up to 30MB/s. Seems kinda odd to buy a whole new card for the PS3 though. A bigger HDD makes more sense to me, just FTP everything on there and forget about it, or are you the kind who has to have every game? [​IMG]
     
  10. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Either there's a big problem with your router ($$$ =/= quality) or something wrong with your cables, because you shouldn't be getting a decrepit 1MB/s.
    Across my nearly 10 year old 100' cat5 cable, through my router and out another relatively old 25' cat5, I get around 12MB/s.
     
  11. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  12. bjorno
    OP

    Member bjorno GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    428
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I think it is the cable. I don't have a cat5 yet, but I will definetly get it soon. The router is this one http://www.sitecom.com/wireless-gigabit-router-300n/p/796
     
  13. flo

    Member flo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    242
    Country:
    Hungary
    I get 30-32 MB/s with a direct connection but having a strange problem , my laptop disconnects from the Wi-Fi router although my PC-PS3 connection and my Wi-fi router are both separate connections . Any tips ?
     
  14. akari212

    Member akari212 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Country:
    Japan
    try working your PS3 network configuration with different subnet. Just like mine:

    ==--PS3 - PC (Vice Versa)--==

    PC Side:

    IP: 1.1.1.1
    subnet: 255.0.0.0
    gateway: blank
    pri & sec DNS: blank

    PS3 Side:

    IP: 1.1.1.2
    subnet: 255.0.0.0
    gateway: 0.0.0.1 (PS3 needs gateway, but just enter an invalid gateway IP and youre fine)
    pri & sec:: 0.0.0.1 (same case with gateway)

    ----------------

    there it should work fine.

    Why they disconnect. Its because there's a conflict between two similar Subnets, even though they were different NIC's.
    Correct me if im wrong. The common subnet used by our routers is 255.255.255.0 (Class C subnet.. used for LAN parties).

    Always remember. 1 subnet in 2 NIC is wrong, unless you bridge them (quite more confusing to implement).
     
  15. diddy81

    Member diddy81 Wii Theme Team

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    731
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    here is the ps3serv program

    and heres how it works

    personally i couldn't get the gui version to work so i used the dos version might have just been the buffer size i had in the gui
    i copied a folder of 4GB in about 45 minutes
     
  16. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    When I transfer a game or data I am usually around 9MB/s, and that is mostly because my router only does 10/100. I'm sure if I got a gigabit router then I'd see things go a lot faster. I've never tried direct connection. I actually stopped using FTP altogether for the PS3 after reading stories about corrupt data from using FTP. I know it has since been fixed but I prefer just to put stuff on my usb hard drive and transfer it like that.
     

Share This Page