How do i temporarily disable my mcafee anti virus?

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by ShadowSol, Aug 25, 2009.

  1. ShadowSol
    OP

    Member ShadowSol GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Location:
    Lurking
    Country:
    Canada
    i need to install something.....

    much appreciated.
     
  2. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Uninstall it.
     
  3. Banger

    Member Banger Me > | | < You ..Wanna Line dance?

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,783
    Country:
    United States
    .
     
  4. DarkRey

    Member DarkRey still transfoooorming.... with sum lags!

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    Rotating around Toni
    Country:
    Croatia
    open mcafee's main panel....i think it should be in the settings or in the firewall, the option to temporarily stop it......
    can't remember exactly because its been some time since i used Mcafee or any other anti viruses!!
     
  5. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,082
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Open McAfee Security Centre
    Click on 'Computer & Files'
    On the right panel click on 'Configure'
    The second panel down says 'Virus protection is enabled' - change it to 'Off'

    It will then ask when you want to restart protection - either at restart, a set number or minutes or never. Pick whichever one suits your purpose.
     
  6. jaxxster

    Member jaxxster The Heretic

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,423
    Location:
    South East London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Start
    Control Panel
    Add/Remove Programs
    Find mcafee
    Click unistall

    Honestly, mcafee causes more problems than it solves.
     
  7. ShadowSol
    OP

    Member ShadowSol GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Location:
    Lurking
    Country:
    Canada
    macafee is the only anti-virus the Dell company would let us have (for vista)
     

Share This Page