How do i restore trucha bug on 4.2 that is already modded?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by music4media, Oct 11, 2009.

  1. music4media
    OP

    Newcomer music4media Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, I am a newbie here, but i need some help on this question and hopefully someone will have a solution.

    I have 4.2e System Menu installed (like everyone else i updated and lost all homebrew etc...) (Luckily no brick)
    I have a Drivekey modchip installed.

    I have reinstalled HBL n HBC and this is working fine again.

    The problem i have is that i can no longer launch some games from disc channel which i have realised are NTSC versions. PAL still works fine.

    To load NTSC i have installed Gecko 1.9 and launch them from there, they have all loaded so far. So games working again sort of.

    But before update i could play any region from disc channel.

    I realise that i could be missing the truchabug? which i believe was there before update and is why they are no longer loading from disc channel.

    Is it also linked to my DRIVEKEY?

    I am wary of patching ios and which ones to patch etc under this configuration and which patcher to use? DopMod, Trucharestorer etc.
     
  2. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Trucha Restorer should be the one to choose if you're going to Trucha Sign your IOS's...?

    You could also use StartPatch 4.2E edition and modify your system menu and that if you so wish.
     
  3. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Use the TBR for that purpose. But the problem you're experiencing isn't related to the trucha bug. System Menu 4.2 has enhanced region protection that chips don't know how to handle.
     
  4. music4media
    OP

    Newcomer music4media Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Thanks guys for the responses. I felt it was something to do with my Drivekey since the 4.2e update but was not sure. I figured the chip that used diff flaws in certain cios has been blocked (stubbed) by the ios70 4.2e update.

    I have visited drivekeys website no update on their site since March 2009 to see if they are providing an update for the drivekey. I feel that they will not be responding or offering a soloution. ??

    So if Gecko 1.9 can launch other region games, cant this be patched permanently into cios so i can use disc channel again without the need for the launcher? How do i do this? step by step?

    I cant complain my wii is still working ok and this problem is more of an inconvienince than a serious one. but would appreciate comments if it is possible to patch or if a drivekey update is out there somewhere.

    Thanks :0)
     
  5. music4media
    OP

    Newcomer music4media Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks so far on this, but this matter is still not resolved and its annoying. I looked at loads of guide but they all refer to soft modding when mine is hard modded?

    I cant figure out what im supposed to update / delete etc. I just need my drivekey to boot all regions again from disc channel with out the need for a launcher like gecko to launch ntsc. pal works fine. since the 4.2e update this is the only problem i now have. hbc working again etc....

    help :0)

    thank you :0)
     
  6. stevee

    Newcomer stevee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Would the same thing happen if the iso's were region patched before burning?
     

Share This Page