How do I play games on my television?

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by cupajoe, Mar 27, 2009.

Mar 27, 2009
  1. cupajoe
    OP

    Member cupajoe Have a cup of joe!

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,143
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    Okay. That topic title was just to get your attention. I know how to play games on my television. The real question is: is there a way to stream my computer to my TV? I have a Vizio HD tv about 12 feet away from my computer, and I wanted to run some emulators on my computer and play them through my TV. Is there a way to do this?
     
  2. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    um...two ways as far as i no.

    firstly (and the best way): does your computer have an hdmi port? if so, hook that shit up to ur hd tv
    secondly: the place where you hook up ur monitor, some tvs have the same port
     
  3. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,082
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Does your TV have a VGA input?

    Does your computer have an S-Video output?
     
  4. cupajoe
    OP

    Member cupajoe Have a cup of joe!

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,143
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    I guess I should've asked for a remote way to do it. Because my computer's wires are tangled behind a big ass desk. I should move my tv up here instead of a monitor. LOL.
     
  5. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
  6. notnarb

    Member notnarb Not narbing it up

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Country:
    well if your computer and tv have compatible hookups, the best way would probably be to just get a long cable, wiring around the top of your room if the ground isn't an option. Monoprice has a wide selection of loooong cables at very reasonable prices.
     
  7. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    long cables are probably your best option, any wireless solution will just introduce lag.

    although, if you want to keep the quality up you will need decent quality cables and/or repeaters
     

Share This Page