how do i know what kind of R4i i have

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by xXVisionZXx, Jun 6, 2010.

Jun 6, 2010
  1. xXVisionZXx
    OP

    Member xXVisionZXx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    Around your corner
    Country:
    United States
    the title says it all i ahve an R4i it uses _SYSTEM_ and TTMenu idk if that helps ohh and the casset is grey like any ds game and the sticker is black and the R4i letters are goldish? BTW anyone know if i can find an aluminum case for DSi XL? i tried everywhere. please help. thank you [​IMG]
     


  2. Crimsonclaw111

    Member Crimsonclaw111 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    Why don't you just read the box it came in?
     
  3. xXVisionZXx
    OP

    Member xXVisionZXx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    Around your corner
    Country:
    United States
    i bought it in a black market kind of a swap meet it just came with a plastic cover with its gold cover it said R4i and what its functions were but it works fine on my DSi xl
     
  4. Crimsonclaw111

    Member Crimsonclaw111 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
  5. xXVisionZXx
    OP

    Member xXVisionZXx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    Around your corner
    Country:
    United States

    noo it doesnt look like that......... tell me how to put the picture and ill show you what it looks like because wenever i put a picture it disapears and it looks liek this also the packaging is the same (lemme see if the picture stays permanently [​IMG]
     
  6. Crimsonclaw111

    Member Crimsonclaw111 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    The picture you posted is just another R4i Gold...
     
  7. xXVisionZXx
    OP

    Member xXVisionZXx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    Around your corner
    Country:
    United States
    what do you mean...and thats how it looks i thought it was an R4i gold or is it?
     
  8. Crimsonclaw111

    Member Crimsonclaw111 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    If your card looks like the picture you posted, then more than likely you have an R4i Gold.
    However, it is an R4 clone, so... it could be anything really.
     
  9. xXVisionZXx
    OP

    Member xXVisionZXx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    Around your corner
    Country:
    United States
    ohh snap so if its a clone i could even be a cloned acekard? or any other flashcard? damn... thats alot of research
     
  10. Crimsonclaw111

    Member Crimsonclaw111 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    Glad to know I helped!
     
  11. exangel

    Member exangel executioner angel

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Country:
    United States
    Just FYI, there are several R4i Gold aka Gold R4i flashcarts,

    There are three different ones recognized on http://www.linfoxdomain.com/nintendo/ds/ alone.

    There should be a URL on the cartridge's label.

    If it says "Danny Phantom" in the DSi Menu before you start it, it's an AK2i clone.
    (But, current Acekard software (both AKAIO and Official) won't work fully on clones. That means you're stuck with the official firmware unless you manage to get YSmenu working, which some people say it will, but I've never read reports of anyone getting YSmenu working on an R4i Gold/AK2i Clone. I've gotten it running, but it would not load games.)

    If it says "Star Wars Lethal Alliance" it is a DSTTi clone.
    (I don't have any experience with this model.)

    Theme compatibility won't necessarily indicate what model you have. R4 (Original) and most of its clones (that use the original R4 styling in their official firmware) use the same or similar format. Here are a couple of the common differences.

    * Some R4 clones allow you to rotate through the themes. Some just follow the monthly theme scheme - the theme displayed based on the DS internal date, for example: MicroSD:\_system_\themes\theme06\ as the current month is June.

    * Some R4 clones will not display bitmaps that are saved with a color depth higher than 16-bit. Themes found on NDSthemes.com are usually in 24-bit default format.

    Edit: changed formatting slightly to avoid confusion
     
  12. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    You can run YSMenu on ak clones,but it won't run the games.It will just display DLDI errors
     
  13. exangel

    Member exangel executioner angel

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I agree, I wish other people would stop saying that you can run YSmenu on {any Acekard-based clone} without mentioning that it won't actually work fully. It's like people recommending Wood R4 for Clones without even reading the thread.
     
  14. xXVisionZXx
    OP

    Member xXVisionZXx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    Around your corner
    Country:
    United States
    nice thanks for oyu information it does display danny phantom urban jungle so i guess its AK2i clone like you said but i got the theme rotation too and the themes at r4igold.net cant download them but they worked just fine on my flash card (managed to get at least one theme download) maybe thats why im having trouble with cheats too [​IMG]
     
  15. exangel

    Member exangel executioner angel

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Country:
    United States
    cheats definitely don't work properly for most games on my R4ids.com R4i Gold even when the usrcheat.dat/cheat.dat are *properly* edited with R4CCE to only contain the cheats for the game(s) I wanted want to cheat on. until I replaced mine with an AK2i I had to create a "game.cht" CHT file and add each code I wanted for the game I wanted to cheat on.
     
  16. xXVisionZXx
    OP

    Member xXVisionZXx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    Around your corner
    Country:
    United States
    yeah im currently looking for .cht files too because some games are too stubborn to get cheats on [​IMG] you know where to get them?
     
  17. exangel

    Member exangel executioner angel

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Country:
    United States
     
  18. xXVisionZXx
    OP

    Member xXVisionZXx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    Around your corner
    Country:
    United States
    soo all i gotta do is make a notepad paste that and changeit to the game i want to put cheats on and cound the lenght of the lines?
     
  19. exangel

    Member exangel executioner angel

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Country:
    United States
    you also need to view the game code from the ROM using a utility like R4CCE and put that info in the .cht file as well - it's just a number, but it identifies with the rom's headers. it's not the scene release number.

    another note: you can add as many cheats as you want as long as each one has its own header like the two in the template.
     
  20. xXVisionZXx
    OP

    Member xXVisionZXx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    Around your corner
    Country:
    United States
    you mean this?

    @(CHEAT NAME) (@=ON BY DEFAULT)
    ;@Data Length: 4
    ;------------------
    94000130 FFFB0000
    222422ED 000000FF
    222422EE 000000FF
    D2000000 00000000
     

Share This Page