How do I know if my Wii has the WiiKey? Help!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Fangedelic, Jul 22, 2007.

Jul 22, 2007
  1. Fangedelic
    OP

    Newcomer Fangedelic Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Hi, I bought my US Version Wii from a shop and they claimed the WiiKey is installed inside already.

    Now I am having doubts as I have burned TDK 4.7GB DVD-R with games and it is unable to read my burnt disks.

    Is there a WiiKey symbol when I boot up my Wii? Or does it all look the same? I'm having doubts that my Wii is even modded now and the shop swindled me! Help!
     


  2. Darkforce

    Former Staff Darkforce DERP!

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,911
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As far as I know there isn't a way to identify the chip if one is present without opening the machine.

    What you could do is take a look at the stickers covering the screw, any sign that may have been peeled?

    Before jumping to conclusions though I would burn off a few more discs on a different brand of media. You could just be having problems with the media or burner. Also, what program are you using to burn the images?

    [​IMG]
     
  3. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    burn waverace for the gamecube and see if it works. if it does not, then you have a wiikey [​IMG]
     
  4. Fangedelic
    OP

    Newcomer Fangedelic Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    I use TDK DVD-R 1-16x speed 4.7GB. I used IMGBurner at 4X speed and burned a resident evil ISO onto the TDK DVD. When I put it in my Wii, it says 'unable to read disk'.
     
  5. helba

    Newcomer helba Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    Canada
    easy, put the wiikey config disk in, run it, if it doesnt work, or when you try to save your config and it doesn;t work, then it's not a wiikey, if it doesn't load any backups at all, then open your console.
     
  6. Fangedelic
    OP

    Newcomer Fangedelic Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    I do not have the WiiKey config disk. Basically I got the modded Wii from a shop pre installed inside.

    I then went online to the official WiiKey site and downloaded the setup images, but when I unzipped them there were so many files(bootlrd.dol , boot.catalog , mfe-fs) that I dont know what to burn! Sorry but I don't know much about computers haha.

    Any other ideas?
     
  7. Bloodgod

    Member Bloodgod 嵐の王

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    Don't bother. If I remember right all config disks works if you pop it in. Cause they all use GC mode to load. So a Winja disk would work on a wiikey. Your best bet is to either open it up or do what lenselijer said. Find a GC game that needs an audio fix, if it messed up you got yourself a Wiikey.
     
  8. Fangedelic
    OP

    Newcomer Fangedelic Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Okay thanks guys! But assuming I do have a WiiKey inside, is there any other reason why my Wii does not read my burned disks?

    I use TDK DVD-R and burned a Resident Evil 4 ISO with IMGBurn at 4X speed. I dont see what I did wrong.
     
  9. Bloodgod

    Member Bloodgod 嵐の王

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    well you either don't have a mod chip or your DVD RW drive sucks. I use those TDK (-) white tops and they work for all my games.
     
  10. exiva

    Member exiva Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Country:
    United States
    I had problems with TDK Media on my WiiFree chip. I went to Taiyo Yuden's and never looked back.
     
  11. Fangedelic
    OP

    Newcomer Fangedelic Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    So I shouldn't try to use the config disks? Can someone teach me how to burn them to my DVDs? e.g Which files to burn?
     
  12. Fangedelic
    OP

    Newcomer Fangedelic Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
  13. icewarp

    Newcomer icewarp Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Araras - SP
    Country:
    Brazil
    Just burn with another media and see if it works. Do you have a friend with a modded Wii for media comparison?
     
  14. acky

    Member acky GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    Australia
    Are the games you are burning the correct region?
     
  15. Fangedelic
    OP

    Newcomer Fangedelic Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Yes, I have a USA Wii and I burned an NTSC version of RE4. But then again, shouldnt the WiiKey make all games region free?
     
  16. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    No! It's region-free patching is still not 100%
     
  17. ev0lusi

    Newcomer ev0lusi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Netherlands
    guys i have a slightly similar problem, until now, all of my burned games work superb. my wii is PAL and i guess the wiikey is working since i've played RE4 ntsc version and pokemon ntsc version.

    But, suddenly it act strange this morning i burned guilty gear xx and it worked. But now, when i put the disc in, it sait "unable to read disc" i dunno if it's a media problem because i've been using the same DVD-R philips since my older games, and they still worked.

    anyone has suggestions?

    thankss
     
  18. nilsk123

    Newcomer nilsk123 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Netherlands
    how do I know if my wii has the wiikey?

    sounds like a sexualy transmitted disease the way you put it.
     
    Tomato Hentai likes this.
  19. almmiron

    Member almmiron GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    118
    Country:
    Brazil
    VERY old topic, but is it obsolete? I mean, ther is now a easy way to see if i have a wiikey. I've got a wii from a friend with lots of burned discs (~300) and he doesnt want buy a HDD. He buyed froma guy, who doesnt know nothing about the wii. Some dvds played until a time ago (via channel), then he updated the wii system, and the burned discs worked no more. I've doesnt know if have a cios darkcorp installed (and dont know how to verify this).

    I tought if I remodded the wii, so I did, it would play dvds from neogamma just fine, but dont. All burned of the burned discs give a disc error. Nintendont, usbloaders trough usb works fine. But burned discs in neogamma, disc channel and nintendont, doesnt work. But Oficial disks works!
     
  20. FaTaL_ErRoR

    Member FaTaL_ErRoR AKA ŦƕƎ ƠṀƐƝ

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    490
    Country:
    United States
    Are you sure you set up neogamma correctly? Also, you may have to remove the mod chip. It could be giving issues.
    Just out of curiosity what co|or is this wii? The issue with neogamma not working is probably just a simple overlook on your part.
    First suggestion would be to go back over the wii and make sure everything is set up for neogamma to work properly. If all is good there then you may have to remove the mod chip. All is definitely not lost here. As far as the chip is concerned it may be, but getting burnt discs working should be pretty cut and dry with hbc and neogamma. How did you set up softmod??? Pimp my wii? modmii? or manually?
     

Share This Page