How do I install my EFA Linker?

Discussion in 'GBA - Flashing Hardware and Software' started by SSGoshin4, May 12, 2008.

May 12, 2008
  1. SSGoshin4
    OP

    Newcomer SSGoshin4 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Im trying to get it to start but i need to download something from there site... I have the 256 MB cartidge. I tried downloading some progrmas from there site but there not working... Does anyone have them for me to download?
     


  2. SSGoshin4
    OP

    Newcomer SSGoshin4 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    I need a link to download the driver/program because its not working on the site...
     
  3. trikon000

    Member trikon000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Country:
    United States
  4. SSGoshin4
    OP

    Newcomer SSGoshin4 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    i just dowloaded it but how to i actually install it so i can get EFA to work?
     
  5. SSGoshin4
    OP

    Newcomer SSGoshin4 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Help please!!!!!!!
     
  6. trikon000

    Member trikon000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Country:
    United States
    plug the cart to a usb port on your comp and charge it for 8 hours before you put any roms on it. Once you plug it in the comp will ask you for the drivers. Once it is installed the light on the cart should turn green. let it charge for the 8 hours then come back and install your stuff with the program.

    if you got vista, your wasting my time. drivers are for XP only.

    If you got a motherboard with NForce chipsets, your screwed too.
     
  7. SSGoshin4
    OP

    Newcomer SSGoshin4 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    how do u install the drivers though? What do i have to do?
     
  8. trikon000

    Member trikon000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Country:
    United States
    when it ask you for drivers pick manual install. then pick the directory they are in.
     
  9. TheWingless

    Member TheWingless Wafuu~

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know what you guys mean by XP ONLY because I have it working on Vista. Just have it detect the drivers in the folder the EFA software comes with and set the compatibility mode to XP for the software(not sure if this one is required). I'm not sure if the 256mbit or simple versions will work the same as I only have an EFA I with 512 mbit. I'm still not sure why you guys are saying that it's XP only as I have been using it on both Vista and XP.

    The moment you plug it in, make sure to have it search for drivers manually. You can use it to scan the folder the drivers come in with the EFA software.
     
  10. trikon000

    Member trikon000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Country:
    United States
    not if he has the vista 64 bit version. they dont work. vista 64 bit version doesn't allow unsigned driver installs.

    most people get vista because they want to run more than 8GB of ram, etc. which does require the 64 bit version.

    It might work on the 32 bit version, the drivers were made long before vista went to market.

    The 256 and 512 carts on jandaman are the simple version.
     
  11. TheWingless

    Member TheWingless Wafuu~

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, okay. I'm using Vista Home Premium 32 bit.
     
  12. SSGoshin4
    OP

    Newcomer SSGoshin4 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    when i plug it in a window pops up that says
    welcome to new found hardware wizard

    then it says
    What do you want the wizard to do?
    install the software automatically or install from a list or specific location

    I clicked the 2nd one.

    then it gives me something to browse files, what files do i choose for that?
     
  13. SSGoshin4
    OP

    Newcomer SSGoshin4 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    someone help please
     
  14. JPH

    Banned JPH Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6,892
    Country:
    United States
    Here is a guide that may help you out. [​IMG]
     
  15. trikon000

    Member trikon000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Country:
    United States
    Pick manual install.

    then you will get the option to pick where the drivers are, it will be the 3rd one where you can pick the location of the drivers.

    then it will ask if you want to continue to install, pick continue to install.
     
  16. SSGoshin4
    OP

    Newcomer SSGoshin4 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    when the hardware wizard thing pops up it labs the EFA as USB Device? What do i do?
     
  17. SSGoshin4
    OP

    Newcomer SSGoshin4 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Oh and to charge the cartridge do i have to keep it in the GBA?
     
  18. TheWingless

    Member TheWingless Wafuu~

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034
    Country:
    United States
    To charge it, you plug it into your computer for 8 hours(or so). The light should be green. Make sure you don't plug in the EFA while it's in the GBA/DS. And try not to double post so much. Just edit your previous one.
     
  19. SSGoshin4
    OP

    Newcomer SSGoshin4 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    when the hardware wizard thing pops up it labs the EFA as USB Device? What do i do?
     
  20. TheWingless

    Member TheWingless Wafuu~

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034
    Country:
    United States
    Did you already install the drivers? We already told you how to install them like 3 times in the previous page.
     

Share This Page