1. Venat

    OP Venat GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    Germany
    I have a N3DS with Monster Hunter preinstalled, and I want to move it to the other sd card I will be using for emunand.

    It seems that is just not possible without making a cia from it?

    To do that I need this tool: https://gbatemp.net/threads/release...p-content-super-easy-and-fast-2-1-fix.376941/

    And that tool requires ticket.db, which I have to get from rxtools.

    But before installing rxtools I would have to do all the other stuff.

    So basically, I'm confused about the order, and if there isn't an easier way to do it.

    Anyone willing to help me out a bit here?
     
  2. Xenon Hacks

    Xenon Hacks GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    7,413
    Country:
    United States
    Why not just download a legit CIA of Monster Hunter or this the target 3DS over 9.2?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I cant link the cia but google for Cha0s Em3rald Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate
     
  3. Venat

    OP Venat GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    Germany
    Well, it's kinda the thought that this really is my game <_<

    Also, I'm not sure if there aren't any advantages in terms of online, etc.

    And I've heard you need one cia with your private header or something, and maybe I could use this one? Not sure about that though.
     
  4. Ruby Gloom

    Ruby Gloom GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,557
    Country:
    New Zealand
    -Snip-
     
    Last edited by Ruby Gloom, Dec 12, 2015
  5. vb_encryption_vb

    vb_encryption_vb That hardmod guy....
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,985
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah easier to download it from the iso site...
     
  6. Xenon Hacks

    Xenon Hacks GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    7,413
    Country:
    United States
    CIA's do not need private header only .3DS roms
    You cannot system transfer a legit CIA
    Legit CIA's can be installed to any systems Sysnand and play without any hack as if it came with the console.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    That wont work the game belongs to the console specific 3DS
     
    Venat likes this.
  7. Ruby Gloom

    Ruby Gloom GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,557
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Didn't understand the question then. Sorry.
     
  8. Xenon Hacks

    Xenon Hacks GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    7,413
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe i'm not understanding the question and no need to say sorry you do that to much.
    @Venat what exactly do you want to do just to clear things up.
     
  9. Ruby Gloom

    Ruby Gloom GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,557
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I'm Canadian. What do you expect? Anyways, I'll edit my post.
     
  10. You have it on sysnand right now?
    You don't need to do anything. Just move all the contents of your SD card to the new one (I presume it is bigger? Otherwise there's no point honestly.)
    Then when you create emunand in GW menu, will make an emunand that has access to that pre-installed Monster Hunter.
    Then all you have to do is format sysnand with SD card out to unlink the nands (better that way imo), and emunand should still have the pre-installed Monster Hunter.

    Unless the 3DS you have the legit Monster Hunter on is over 9.2 and you were talking about setting up a different 3DS 9.2 or lower for CFW... in which case honestly you might as well just download a legit .cia, it'd be the exact same as keeping the one you have already.

    That or FunkyCIA should be able to make a legit .cia from your pre-installed game without you having to download it online c:
     
    Last edited Dec 12, 2015
    Venat likes this.
  11. Venat

    OP Venat GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    Germany
    I want to swap out the 4 gb card for a bigger one and then do the whole process of installing cfw that I don't quite have figured out yet.

    I would have welcomed to not lose the game that was preinstalled on the 4 gb card and have it in working condition on the new card.

    @Pingouin7 ,I thought simply copying doesn't work, but it does in emunand?
     
  12. The games aren't linked to the SD card, but to the console. You should be able to copy everything over to a bigger SD card and everything will still work.
     
  13. Xenon Hacks

    Xenon Hacks GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    7,413
    Country:
    United States
    Thats way more simple you made it sound like you were switching over to another 3DS just drag and drop all the files and folders to the New SD card lol.
     
  14. vb_encryption_vb

    vb_encryption_vb That hardmod guy....
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,985
    Country:
    United States
    It works like that. Ive done it before.
     
  15. Venat

    OP Venat GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    Germany
    So I just copy the whole content of the first card to the other one?

    If I also put everything I need for cfw on it and create emunand, can it all stay on the card without being a hindrance?
     
  16. vb_encryption_vb

    vb_encryption_vb That hardmod guy....
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,985
    Country:
    United States
    Yes. However i made a new emunand when i changed cards. I didnt have any cia installed yet.
     
  17. Xenon Hacks

    Xenon Hacks GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    7,413
    Country:
    United States
    Just backup your SD card setup rxTools with a blank card from start to finish, unlink the Nands, then drag all your files back to the SD card.
     
  18. Venat

    OP Venat GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    Germany
    With backup you just mean copy, not some special procedure, right?

    Just setting up rxtools then, well that shouldn't be a problem...
     
  19. Xenon Hacks

    Xenon Hacks GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    7,413
    Country:
    United States
    Copy and paste everything from your sd card to your pc you don't need any special tools and once you have rxTools setup with unlinked nands just drag everything back.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - preinstalled,