1. rustyshakelford

    OP rustyshakelford GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
    Hi everyone. I hope you are safe and healthy. Here is my original thread https://gbatemp.net/threads/just-bo...lder-triforce-edition-3ds-and-have-so.524611/
    I now want to put DS games on my 3DS but I don't know if the person that modded it already put the program on the SD card or if I have to do it. On my 3DS menu, I see FBI, 3DSident and FTPD. How do I find out if I have the program to run DS games? If I don't have it, which program and guide do you suggest I use? I just got back my 3DS from a friend that was borrowing it for like 6 months so I have not accessed the programs in a while so I'm a little rusty on the lingo so please go easy on me thanks. Oh and do I need to update it and if so, is it safe to do so?
     
  2. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,641
    Country:
    United States
    Use twighlight++
     
  3. rustyshakelford

    OP rustyshakelford GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the quick reply. I have no idea what that is.
     
  4. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,641
    Country:
    United States
    Google may help with that
     
    Pickle_Rick and tfocosta like this.
  5. wiiuepiccpu

    wiiuepiccpu vanCFW tester
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Messages:
    416
    Country:
    United States
    Or just go to the ds homebrew section.
     
  6. _Pro_Man_

    _Pro_Man_ GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    187
    Country:
    United States
    If you don't want to use a flashcard and just use the SD card inside of the 3DS, what you'll want to use is TWiLight Menu++ like previously said. A good guide for that is here. You could check to see if the TWiLight Menu cia is installed, but from the programs that you listed off, it's not on there, so you'd need to follow the guide.
     
    rustyshakelford likes this.
  7. rustyshakelford

    OP rustyshakelford GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
    Again, I don't know if I already have it. I have 3DS games and different VC games. I am not a pro like you and others here and like I stated, I have been without my 3DS for at least 6 months so I forgot a lot of this stuff.

    How do I find that on my SD card? Where is that on my 3DS? Do you mean the DS homebrew forums here? Since I am using a New 3DS XL, I thought I needed to post here.

    Yes, I don't want to buy an extra card just use my SD card. It's 64 GB. So if I don't see it on the main menu, I definitely do not have the program to run DS games? There is no where else it could be like in a folder or something? I remember I used to access some kind of boot menu by holding down a button with the power button. My 3DS is version 11.10.0-43U.
     
    Last edited by rustyshakelford, Jul 19, 2020
  8. lone_wolf323

    lone_wolf323 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3,924
    Country:
    Canada
    rustyshakelford likes this.
  9. rustyshakelford

    OP rustyshakelford GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
    Last edited by rustyshakelford, Jul 19, 2020
  10. tfocosta

    tfocosta GBAtemp Z-Warrior
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2020
    Messages:
    439
    Country:
    Canada
    Use a flashcart with YS Menu. It runs smoothly and with no issues. I know this is very personal, but for me it works better than the TWiLight Menu++ :)
     
    Last edited by tfocosta, Jul 19, 2020
  11. AmandaRose

    AmandaRose Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    8,012
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have tried over 300 games using Twighlightmenu with zero issues
     
    tfocosta likes this.
  12. tfocosta

    tfocosta GBAtemp Z-Warrior
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2020
    Messages:
    439
    Country:
    Canada
    What I meant is that I found the flashcart more straight forward. But as I mentioned, it's personal. :D
     
  13. wiiuepiccpu

    wiiuepiccpu vanCFW tester
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Messages:
    416
    Country:
    United States
    Download twilight menu ++'s cia file with the _nds folder and then install the cia using fbi
     
  14. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex CVE-2018-6242
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3,268
    Country:
    Germany
    Even twilight menu++ runs smooth and with no issues by the way.
     
  15. rustyshakelford

    OP rustyshakelford GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
    Trying it now.

    How do I add roms? The guide doesn't tell me.I have installed all the Twilight Updates and went into the program but I have no ds games. Do I add them to the cia folder like I do with my 3DS games? Do I have to put all the roms in the roms and then nds folder? Does it only accept .nds roms? Do I have to load this program every time I want to play a DS game? I can't add games directly to the main menu like all my other games?
     
    Last edited by rustyshakelford, Jul 19, 2020
  16. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex CVE-2018-6242
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3,268
    Country:
    Germany
    Just copy and paste them to your sd card.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Why would you put them into the cia folder? The roms are .nds files. Not installable archives.
     
  17. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,641
    Country:
    United States
    And on that note "CIA folder" is arbitrary to installing cia's
     
    zfreeman likes this.
  18. rustyshakelford

    OP rustyshakelford GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
    That's how I was told to add 3DS games. I put the rom in the cia folder and then I install and delete it with FBI. Copy and paste them where on my sd card? I assume the nds folder? Can I add them to my menu or do I need to boot up that Twilight program every time? Do any nds roms work or only .nds files?

    Again, that's how I was instructed to add 3DS games.
     
    Last edited by rustyshakelford, Jul 19, 2020
  19. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,641
    Country:
    United States
    It's only for organization u can even make a "I'm a filthy pirate" folder for cia's and it will work the same
     
    tfocosta likes this.
  20. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex CVE-2018-6242
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3,268
    Country:
    Germany
    Doesn't matter. Important here is that you find them on your card ;)

    No

    Yes.

    Here is a compatibility list. But most of the games work flawless.
     
    rustyshakelford likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - firmware, custom, games