How can I use my US-Wii in Australia?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by exar khun, Jul 17, 2007.

Jul 17, 2007
  1. exar khun
    OP

    Newcomer exar khun Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Hi!

    I'm planning to move from the US to Australia soon.
    In this regards, could anybody help me out on how I can use my US-Wii over there?

    What do I need to buy?
    Where can I buy the items I need?

    EDIT: i've just did some more browsing and this is what i've come up with....
    for my US/NTSC Wii, the only thing i need is get a universal ac adapter that can accept an input of 100-245V, 50/60Hz and gives an out of 12V, 3.7A, right?
    and its safe to assume that most (if not all) latest model TVs sold in australia is a multi-system (NTSC and PAL), right?
    so is my understanding is correct?
     
  2. HipN

    Member HipN GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    548
    Country:
    Canada
    You need to buy a power converter since they might use a difference power outlet than we do.

    And a TV that supports NTSC
     
  3. cheapassdave

    Member cheapassdave GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    United States
    Austrailia uses 220 volts while the US uses 110v, so you'll need a coverter and maybe an adapter for the wall. then you plug your wii onto the converter, thats it. i bought one in Iraq for around US$20-30 bucks.
    also you should be ok with the TVs over there

    something like this:
    http://www.amazon.com/Seven-THG-750-Voltag...84725890&sr=8-9
    that's both a step up and step down so just look for step up converters, it'll be chaeper.
     
  4. Glacius0

    Member Glacius0 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    604
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Can't he just buy a power cable in Australia? Or don't they sell power cables in stores?
     
  5. TLSpartan

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    Australia uses 240V not 220V. MOST appliances work from 100 to 240V to save on manufacturing costs. The Wii might have that but im not entirely sure about that. The only place you could get a power cable is EB(I think). Or buy a USA to AUS powerpoint converter for 10 bucks from Jaycar.
     
  6. Pikachu025

    Member Pikachu025 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    I'd assume you could just buy a Wii Power cord in Australia and it would work fine. My Gamecube Power cord from my PAL-Gamecube (bought in Austria) works perfectly fine on my Japanese Gamecube too, so I'd assume it would be the same case with the Wii.
     
  7. SlCKB0Y

    Member SlCKB0Y GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    Actually Australia uses 230V/50hz. You are right that the power supply coverts between voltages.
    240V is still within tolerances though. The best solution would be to shell out a little a get an Australian Wii power cord.
     
  8. SlCKB0Y

    Member SlCKB0Y GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    If you don't want to buy a new cord, the only thing you need is an adapter to convert the pin differences ($5). The Wii power supply will take care of the voltage difference. You dont *need* to buy anything else. Although it would be much neater to just buy the new cord.

    Most TV's sold here work for both PAL and NTSC.

    Do gamecube cables work? They would be cheap.
     
  9. TLSpartan

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    Where abouts in Australia are you planning to move to? If you know what you are doing buy a new cord and change the ends(ie snip of the US connectors and put an AUS connector on the end). Only do that if you know how to do it(You could die)
     
  10. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All you need is a step-down convertor or a Austrailian wii power supply. Changing the end of the cable WILL NOT work and will blow the power supply and maybe even the Wii. (Different voltages). If you have alot of US equipment you want to keep I suggest a high powered step-down convertor.
    If you buy a recent TV it should have NTSC support.

    Gamecube cables will not work, different connections.
     
  11. exar khun
    OP

    Newcomer exar khun Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States

    would this also be a good option ?
    http://www.amazon.com/Universal-AC-Adapter...84772837&sr=8-1

    Or the safest thing is to just buy the PAL AC Adapter when I arrive in Melbourne. How much is it?
     
  12. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It would be safer to get an official Wii power supply but finding one is difficult, Nintendo don't have an official store in Austrailia but they may have an official re-seller you would have to email them to find out.

    I recommend a decent step-down convertor though, it will service your other US devices aswell.
     

Share This Page