How can i use my laptop as a wireless hotspot?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Die Antwoord, Apr 14, 2011.

  1. Die Antwoord
    OP

    Member Die Antwoord GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    United States
    Problem:My DS can't connect to my router because it uses WPA security, and the DS only supports WEP. so i want to use my laptop as the host so my DS can connect to the internet through it. And my neighbors wi-fi which uses wep has a password.

    My laptop uses wireless connection, and i have a linksys router. is it possible? google is kinda complicated for this, so i think personally asking somehere who probably did it themselves is easier.
     
  2. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,147
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    WEP can be cracked in seconds. My phone can do it in 4 seconds.

    Since this question has come up again and again, I've been finding out that many laptop WiFi doesn't actually support AP mode (hotspot mode... although two of my laptops do support it). More than that, they don't support infrastructure mode which is what the DS actually needs to connect online. I've found that the best solution is either to configure the router to use WEP security (not advised for the above reason), or to buy a USB WiFi dongle and set that in AP mode (hotspot mode). Once the dongle is in AP mode, you need to use ICS (Internet Connection Sharing) to enable the sharing of the internet from one WiFi network to the other.
     
  3. CrimzonEyed

    Member CrimzonEyed GBAtemp's Assassin

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,486
    Location:
    The Shadows
    Country:
    Japan
    Change to WEP and add a mac filtering. (ds mac adress can be found in wifi settings)
     
  4. Jax

    Member Jax Pip Pip Cheerioink!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,092
    Location:
    L.A.V.
    Country:
    Portugal
  5. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,147
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I forgot about mac filters, although it's only partially effective. Mac spoofing isn't all that difficult on many devices. Still, for the purpose of getting DS to work... it should work very well.
     
  6. Die Antwoord
    OP

    Member Die Antwoord GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    United States
    how can i change my router to wep? and i have windows xp
     
  7. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,147
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Connect to your router (usually either through a USB cable or using a web browser to connect to 192.168.1.1, or whatever the default gateway is set to), find the section for WiFi (or WLAN) security, and change the option from WPA to WEP (the choices are usually WEP, WPA and WPA2). You'll have to reconfigure every device connected via WiFi again. We cannot give any more specific detail than that because you haven't told us what model router you have (Linksys is a brand, and says nothing about the actual router).

    EDIT: I don't think we'll try explaining how to set up MAC filters, because that seems like it's just a level too high for you to handle from a quick explanation.
     
  8. Die Antwoord
    OP

    Member Die Antwoord GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    United States
    Ok thanks, but can i see connect my ds to the internet through my laptop?
     
  9. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,147
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Only if the WiFi card in your laptop supports AP and infrastructure mode.
     
  10. Die Antwoord
    OP

    Member Die Antwoord GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    United States
    hm how do i check for that? Im trying to not change to wep because other people in this house use the wi-fi, so i'm trying not to screw them over
     
  11. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Why not just give them the new key?
     
  12. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    check if your laptop supports Intel MyWifi. I used that to play on the DS. Its kinda messy to configure. If u find it for your laptop (which should be intel centrino usually) then i will help u in configuration or other ppl.
     
  13. Die Antwoord
    OP

    Member Die Antwoord GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    United States
    i don't think it does
     
  14. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,174
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    A regular DS can't do this, but the DSi(XL) or 3DS can connect to an Infrastructure network, i.e. computer-to-computer. It can also use WEP.
     
  15. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,147
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    From the sound of things, best bet is to buy a USB WiFi dongle and set that to AP mode. You can find them for less than $15.
     
  16. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    check which type of adapter (wifi) u have. If its intel then most confidently (?) u will have to download a software that will include intel my wifi
     

Share This Page