How can i update to the newest firmware upgrade on 3ds luma?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by CFWScrub, Apr 29, 2017.

1. CFWScrub
    OP

CFWScrub Newbie

Newcomer
    Apr 29, 2017
    United States
    Hello,this is my first time posting here i am not really good at this cfw stuff i had my cousin install Luma for me. After doing so he also somehow updated Luma and installed the latest version of the 3ds firmware that was bugging me and asking for confirmation to start the install. He did it successfull and my 3ds is now on version 11.3.0.36E. Now my 3ds asks me permission to update to the newest version for about 5 days now i thinl. Normally i wouldnt mind not updating but to be able to participate in the latest internet mission in Pokemon Sun it tells me that i need to update my 3ds firmware again. Since i have no idea if i can safely update or not or if it is gonna mess with the fw im asking here for some proffessional advice and help

Nio likes this.
  2. Lilith Valentine

Lilith Valentine GBATemp's Wolfdog™ I drool on my knife

Sep 13, 2009
    Antarctica
    Between insane and insecure
    All you need to do is download the latest Luma3DS from the repo and place the "arm9loaderhax.bin" into the root of your SD card.
    https://github.com/AuroraWright/Luma3DS/releases
    From there, you will be safe to update to the latest OFW.
    Do note, it's almost always safe to update to the latest OFW because Luma3DS will protect your hacks. But the latest ones have caused some problems with CFWs.
    Also thanks for asking before hand instead of blindly updating!

Nio likes this.
  3. Nio

Nio GBAtemp Regular

May 1, 2007
    Gambia, The
    I need to know too. I am in the same situation and all the information is too. omplex for me. I need some straight yes or no!

I already updated lumia zo 7.0. on zhe 3ds itself withouh downloading anything. do i need to do more?

Last edited by Nio, Apr 29, 2017
  4. Lilith Valentine

Sep 13, 2009