How can i recover from a Banner Brick with 4.2 U?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by guedesbrawl, Mar 6, 2011.

  1. guedesbrawl
    OP

    Member guedesbrawl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Country:
    Brazil
    if you need to know anything of what i installed on my wii,just ask
     
  2. brausm08

    Member brausm08 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Location:
    USA - Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    bootmii@boot2...
    priiloader...
     
  3. guedesbrawl
    OP

    Member guedesbrawl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Country:
    Brazil
    there is an option named 'launch boot mii' in my homebrew channel menu.
    is that it?do i need anything else? what should i do exactly if my wii is bricked?
     
  4. brausm08

    Member brausm08 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Location:
    USA - Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    "launch bootmii" in HBC does nothing for banner brick protection (that's bootmii@IOS)...as you would need to get to HBC through the SM (which would be borked at this point)

    bootmii@boot2: when you turn on your wii, if the slot light gives you two quick flashes, then you have bootmii@boot2 installed...with that, just have the bootmii files on the SD and it will launch bootmii during boot....from there you can: 1.) reload your NAND from a backup copy, or 2.) load HBC (assuming you have compatible versions of bootmii/HBC (ie. bootmii 0.7/0.8 and HBC 1.0.7/1.0.8)) and fix your banner bricked SM

    bootmii@boot2 is not possible on all wii's as Ninty made the boot2 read only once they saw what the hackers were doing....

    if bootmii@boot2 is not possible, then you would need priiloader. with priiloader installed, launch it by holding reset during the boot sequence...from there you can launch HBC and then fix the banner bricked SM.....

    to actually fix a banner brick...load a channel manager in HBC and remove the offending channel...then your SM should load properly
     
  5. Porobu

    Member Porobu Gbatemps Shiny Latias

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042
    Country:
    Spain
     
  6. brausm08

    Member brausm08 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Location:
    USA - Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    ah yes Porobu...i wondered if someone would correct me...i knew what i had written wasn't correct...but since it really wasn't on topic, i wanted to leave it simple (and in terms they won't question) for the sake of the Noobs....

    i'll stand corrected....good catch.
     
  7. guedesbrawl
    OP

    Member guedesbrawl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Country:
    Brazil
    so,in caseit gets bricked,i just load priiloader,and go to hbc.then i go to the wad manager and unnistall the bad wad.

    is that it?
     
  8. Hells Guardian

    Member Hells Guardian GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,113
    Country:
    United States
    yes. You can do the same with bootmii boot2 install. If bootmii is an option Id recommend it over priiloader any day.
     
  9. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    Just be sure to never uninstall ios, never uninstall the system menu. Bad things happen to those who do.
     
  10. guedesbrawl
    OP

    Member guedesbrawl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Country:
    Brazil
    say,if the banner brick happens because of a bad wad;after I recover from it,will i lose anything else (saves,chanels,etc...)?
     
  11. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386
    Country:
    Sweden
    Make a backup with Bootmii and in the worst case, you have the man himself "Deadlyfoez" that can help you out. Some how he can insert the bootmii backup back to your NAND.
     
  12. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    these are usually easy to recover from just boot into wad manager or hbc from bootmii and delete the wad and it should fix it you won't lose anything.
     
  13. Saoron

    Newcomer Saoron Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    Australia
    I know this is off topic, but you got me really curious - What were the hackers doing? and if it wasn't read only, would it have been possible for everyone to install it as boot2, instead of some needing to install it as an IOS?
     
  14. Porobu

    Member Porobu Gbatemps Shiny Latias

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042
    Country:
    Spain
    Boot 2 can be written in al wiis but N fixed boot 1 trucha bug in mid 2008 do its imposible to install bootmii/boot2
     
  15. guedesbrawl
    OP

    Member guedesbrawl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Country:
    Brazil
    thanks everyone

    've installed priiloader,paper mario and phoenix wright one.no bricks

    and i know what to do if it bricks now

    but,a last question:
    if i sucessfully install a good wad,can i delete it form my sd after instalation?
     
  16. 8BitWalugi

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    Yes, you can delete the WAD from your SD card.

    Slightly off topic, I have a launch(ish, got it 1 month after) Wii, that's had it's drive replaced to the new one (D32 or something. [​IMG]). Anyway, would my Wii be able to write to boot2?
     
  17. Porobu

    Member Porobu Gbatemps Shiny Latias

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042
    Country:
    Spain
    Load hackmii installer and you wiil know if boot1 has the trucha bug
     

Share This Page