Hacking how can i downgrade 11.6 to 11.5?

wksson1

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 7, 2018
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
61
Country
Korea, South
first i'm Korean(so i'm sorry if i use english words or grammer badly)

i use old 3ds xl(and it's region is kor(korea))
when i finished install custom firmware by ntrboot, i want to use custom theme, so i'm entering anemone theme app.
but it got an error (theme extdata doesn't exist! Set a default theme from the home menu!)...
well.... i think korea version 3ds has not theme setting so it's got an error...

i'm also think "how about change firmware region?"and search ,but region change that i found way is working on 11.5 and my 3ds is 11.6
then, i try to downgrade 11.6 to 11.5 using ctrtransfer(from 3ds guide) and i bricked... (but now i'm sucessfully recovered that)

i want to use theme.
so if you know how to change firmware region or downgrade 11.6 to 11.5.
please tell me.

p.s. i think it's weird only korea version has not theme settings....
 

OrGoN3

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2007
Messages
3,185
Trophies
1
XP
2,744
Country
United States
first i'm Korean(so i'm sorry if i use english words or grammer badly)

i use old 3ds xl(and it's region is kor(korea))
when i finished install custom firmware by ntrboot, i want to use custom theme, so i'm entering anemone theme app.
but it got an error (theme extdata doesn't exist! Set a default theme from the home menu!)...
well.... i think korea version 3ds has not theme setting so it's got an error...

i'm also think "how about change firmware region?"and search ,but region change that i found way is working on 11.5 and my 3ds is 11.6
then, i try to downgrade 11.6 to 11.5 using ctrtransfer(from 3ds guide) and i bricked... (but now i'm sucessfully recovered that)

i want to use theme.
so if you know how to change firmware region or downgrade 11.6 to 11.5.
please tell me.

p.s. i think it's weird only korea version has not theme settings....
If only there were a guide for that..... https://3ds.guide/region-changing
 

aos10

Yuuki chan
Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
4,739
Trophies
2
Age
36
XP
3,826
Country
Saudi Arabia
There is no benefits for downgrading from 11.6 to 11.5.

Also if you already logged on your NNID on that 3DS, it becomes harder or maybe not possible to full region change, the region changed eshop will become inaccessible.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Giodude

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,230
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
11,771
Country
Norway
first i'm Korean(so i'm sorry if i use english words or grammer badly)

i use old 3ds xl(and it's region is kor(korea))
when i finished install custom firmware by ntrboot, i want to use custom theme, so i'm entering anemone theme app.
but it got an error (theme extdata doesn't exist! Set a default theme from the home menu!)...
well.... i think korea version 3ds has not theme setting so it's got an error...

i'm also think "how about change firmware region?"and search ,but region change that i found way is working on 11.5 and my 3ds is 11.6
then, i try to downgrade 11.6 to 11.5 using ctrtransfer(from 3ds guide) and i bricked... (but now i'm sucessfully recovered that)

i want to use theme.
so if you know how to change firmware region or downgrade 11.6 to 11.5.
please tell me.

p.s. i think it's weird only korea version has not theme settings....
You don't need 11.5 to region change.
Also, it's really weird that they never implemented themes on Korean 3DSes. I wonder what their reasoning behind that was, seeing as it's basically free money as all they have to do is add Korean titles to a bunch of their existing themes and release them.
 

soprano1

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2016
Messages
240
Trophies
0
XP
528
Country
Portugal
That makes no sense, KOR 3DS not having theme support. Don't you have access to the theme shop? See if there's a theme free to download and install.
 

wksson1

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 7, 2018
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
61
Country
Korea, South
If only there were a guide for that..... 3ds,guide/region-changing
well... i'm try to another region firmware
and it works! so now, i'm using kirby theme :) thanks!
and if you know a solution, can you help me about another problem?
i'm install super mario maker 3ds and when it starts first, "please update this game" is popped up.
and when i ignore it and start game...
my 3ds got an error "an exception occurred"...
have you any idea to solve this problem?
 

aos10

Yuuki chan
Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
4,739
Trophies
2
Age
36
XP
3,826
Country
Saudi Arabia
well... i'm try to another region firmware
and it works! so now, i'm using kirby theme :) thanks!
and if you know a solution, can you help me about another problem?
i'm install super mario maker 3ds and when it starts first, "please update this game" is popped up.
and when i ignore it and start game...
my 3ds got an error "an exception occurred"...
have you any idea to solve this problem?
if region changed your 3DS, then you should get the update from other then the eshop, try get the update from freeshop or the .cia from that iso site.
 

OrGoN3

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2007
Messages
3,185
Trophies
1
XP
2,744
Country
United States
if region changed your 3DS, then you should get the update from other then the eshop, try get the update from freeshop or the .cia from that iso site.
Or use freeshop and download it from the proper region.

Edit: You would be using freeshop for its actual intended purpose: downloading games from other regions. Of course, it's intended purpose is download games from other regions that you own, but we won't worry about that minute detail.
 
Last edited by OrGoN3,
  • Like
Reactions: wormdood

wksson1

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 7, 2018
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
61
Country
Korea, South
Or use freeshop and download it from the proper region.

Edit: You would be using freeshop for its actual intended purpose: downloading games from other regions. Of course, it's intended purpose is download games from other regions that you own, but we won't worry about that minute detail.

thanks for reply.
i 'm download a few games from freeshop
other games is fine for launch and play ,
but only super mario maker got error when it launched(an exception occrrupted)(other version of region and update file installed is same)
why it got an error?
 

aos10

Yuuki chan
Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
4,739
Trophies
2
Age
36
XP
3,826
Country
Saudi Arabia
thanks for reply.
i 'm download a few games from freeshop
other games is fine for launch and play ,
but only super mario maker got error when it launched(an exception occrrupted)(other version of region and update file installed is same)
why it got an error?
when launched or when you try to sign on to NNID?
have you delete the game +ticket for all the versions of this game and then install each one alone?
 

wksson1

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 7, 2018
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
61
Country
Korea, South
when launched or when you try to sign on to NNID?
have you delete the game +ticket for all the versions of this game and then install each one alone?
thanks to reply
if "when launched or when you try to sign on to NNID" means launched time and if you signed onNNID , first launched time is random. i tried 7PM, 12PM, 5PM, and 11PM
and about NNID, i can't how to sign it, so my 3ds doesn't signed on NNID.

or if "when launched or when you try to sign on to NNID" means "when the game is crashed? launching game or try to connect(sign) on to NNID?".
it crashed when game launching. not sign on to NNID.

oh. i also tried to "delete game + ticket and reinstall game" i delete game and ticket using fbi's function "delete title and ticket"

well... i searching a solution after make this thread so i found a way is enable game patching on luma 3ds configuration(press select when 3ds booting)
but, after do that, mario maker isn't got error. but, when it launching it is got infinity balck screen...

if you know a solution.. please explain that to me
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    But it doesn't have a speaker or battery.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Guess you could fit one in there.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    The contacts are there, and the device already has charge control circuitry, but you have to buy and solder the battery yourself.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    And that's too fiddly for ole' butterfingers over here.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Gimme a finished product please.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    No rough edges either, I might hurt myself.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Nah, I can do it within a few mins.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Well yes, I suppose you can, but I can't.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    If it has a USB port, then you could perhaps try connecting a power bank.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It has USB-C.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    That should be alright.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Well that was an owie hit my hand on the oven
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Hope you're alright there
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I enjoy the pain
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Not weird at all
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Who said I was normal
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I didn't ask
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    It's okay to not be normal, act natural
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Ok just because you told me to
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    That's fair
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I'm still bloody waiting for my eBay item to arrive, still haven't because of the *fuck you middle finger* pay strikes.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Can imagine other people waiting for their Xmas gifts.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Timestamp to the conclusion https://youtu.be/tAtaIZD0Ebs?t=624
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: Timestamp to the conclusion https://youtu.be/tAtaIZD0Ebs?t=624