How a program trial-period crack functions and how to set correct permissions?

Discussion in 'Computer Programming, Emulation, and Game Modding' started by caribou007, Feb 14, 2013.

1. caribou007
    OP

Member caribou007 GBAtemp Regular

Canada
    I have a program with a built-in trial period and two files, a .exe and a .dll to replace. I scanned both using virustotal, then ran them on my computer and then ran a specialized scanner/removal tool for the only positive virustotal gave me (on only 1/46 scanners) and it found nothing at all, so I'm pretty sure these files are not malicious. However, I am using a limited user account and even when granting full control priviledges over the program folder, it still says that it can not access things it needs so it actually needs more priviledges on other system components. I can Program Monitor and saw it touching some important system components when being run from a superuser account. I am new to this level of management and am very curious about 1. What it's doing and 2. What privileges I now need to grant this user account.

2. Rydian

Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    United States
    If you do have access to an admin account, use unlocker to make that that no higher process is trying to use those files at the time you're trying to replace them.
    http://www.emptyloop.com/unlocker/

Anyways, they need admin/install access to be able to write to /program files/ (which is outside of their account), so it's not just a program launch issue. Same permissions as being able to install programs should work.

3. caribou007
    OP

Canada