Hoshigami fix

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by CougRAWR, Jul 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Jul 3, 2007

Hoshigami fix by CougRAWR at 11:02 PM (19,356 Views / 0 Likes) 29 replies

  1. CougRAWR
    OP

    Newcomer CougRAWR Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Not sure where id post this but this seems like the right place.
    I found this method from the user Go185.

    I just made a small guide for newer users to understand and enjoy this game, instead of posting which files to replace.

    use DSlazy off this site
    http://blog.dev-scene.com/ratx/archives/category/dslazy/
    i think that the official site.
    you can use NDS tool as well. but NDS tool always messes up on me.

    1. load the J rom with DSlazy, and press "unpack" on DS lazy
    2.grab the ARm 7.bin file out and put on desktop
    3.then load the US rom and unpack
    4.put the j ARM7.bin into the unpacked folder for US.
    5. have it over write, then click REPACK on DSLAZY.
    6 it will prompt you to rename it.
    7. then put it on your card.

    Im using G6 Lite settings are Safemode and FORCE R/W on.
    I havent tried any other settings, but ti works.

    tut is kind of rought, but i think its clear enough.
    If your having that much trouble doing this then email me at samagedude@gmail.com and ill give you a littel "help" [​IMG]
     


  2. rashef

    Member rashef GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    Raimon
    Country:
    Poland
    It works with M3 SD also. I wonder would it work with simcity since J version was compatible and U has the same issue as hoshigami [​IMG].
     
  3. Doomsday Forte

    Member Doomsday Forte GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,272
    Country:
    United States
    That's interesting...I wonder why it works like that?

    I also wonder if this is going to be the only real fix we're going to have. I'm not sure if the dev teams who produce the flashcarts even know how to work around this, though this might be the clue they need. I certainly hope so.

    Currently downloading dslazy and will attempt this on my M3 SD.

    Okay, system power on...Thump thump. Thump thump.

    GASP. Victory! Safe-Mode + Force R/W works with this method on the M3 SD.

    And reading on the discussion over this on the M3Wiki, it seems that Nintendo has found a way to reverse or nullify the effects of Force R/W, or at the very least, they have a system in place that forces the game to write to Slot-1 for saving. I have no idea why it doesn't want to start, though I'm certain it's strongly linked to this.

    I dare to ask, can you do this with every J to U game, or only certain games up to a point? Like...well, Hoshigami in this case. The U version has this lock in place, and I assume the J didn't, so...if this is the case, then this is only a temporary fix at best because all versions of one game will have the lock in play and it'll be impossible to use this method to circumvent it.

    And, thanks to you CougRAWR and Go185.
     
  4. rashef

    Member rashef GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    Raimon
    Country:
    Poland
    Well, I'm not the best in understanding this but it looks to me that the arm7.bin (and arm9.bin ?) is/are some kind of executable code (like EXE files on windows) so replacing protected one with unprotected J version of the same game should (but does not mean it'll work for sure) make it work. Well, something like that, and yes, it is a temporary fix and nintendo starting to use this new kind of protection seems logic since the best games have yet to come ;].
     
  5. KeitaroBaka

    Member KeitaroBaka Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    France
    Thanks CougRAWR and Go185 !

    I also tried it with SimCity DS and it works well when including the JAP arm7.bin. [​IMG]
     
  6. GameDragon

    Member GameDragon Mugiwara RAWR!

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Wow nice, now I need to both version of the game. Thanks alot [​IMG]
     
  7. Bad_Ad84

    Newcomer Bad_Ad84 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it doesnt need to be the same game, the arm7.bin seems to be a generic file/loader

    http://www.m3-forum.com/viewtopic.php?t=9506

    made a easy way to patch files, ive also used simcity J as donor arm7.bin for the few new jap games that have came out which there isnt a working release for and its all worked fine with no problems.

    basically we have a generic fix for the time being
     
  8. chuckstudios

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Just be careful when Nintendo releases a new version of their SDK, the ARM7 binary will probably change again.

    Edit: Wasn't really clear. What I mean is this fix could be broken in later games due to SDK updates.
     
  9. go185

    Member go185 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    230
    Country:
    This is go185 here.

    Your welcome to everyone that said thanks!

    I was originally messing around with it to try to get it to work with my X9, and in effect found the fix works on the M3/G6 slot2 carts too!

    Seems like the new arm7.bin's are different than the ones we are used to. Hopefully all he carts that dont work with it get updated soon!

    by the way, if your on gbatemp's IRC channel(s) at all, I go by the username |papuu| (or papuu) [​IMG]
     
  10. Bad_Ad84

    Newcomer Bad_Ad84 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well the arm7.bin HAS changed, we are simply using an older version without this new protection and it works fine with current roms
     
  11. chuckstudios

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I just mean when it changes again. Like... if they have to update a function. I'm not doing a very good job at explaining this XD
     
  12. Bad_Ad84

    Newcomer Bad_Ad84 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i know what you mean, but its unlikely to get broken anytime soon and if it does theres no need for a "warning" if they change it, the rom just wont work... hardly a cause for concern.
     
  13. kazumi213

    Member kazumi213 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    Spain
    I confirm the above procedure allows Zelda to be played on the DS-X (not sure about saving capability, but now Zelda doesn't stops showing that red message and allows to play).

    I've used arm7.bin from 864-SimCity JPN (arm7.bin from 1103-Hoshigami JPN would also work because both arm7.bin are exactly the same file). I'm using FW 1.0.2.

    This fix should allow the execution of SimCity USA and Hoshigami USA on the DS-X too.

    This confirms a special check has been set on the newer arm7.bin revisions to try to prevent execution on flashcards.
     
  14. tanky

    Newcomer tanky Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Hi I really want to get this working but am totally lost at step 3. what US rom? Without sounding rude pls could someone give me clearer steps as im quite a n00b with this stuff :S
     
  15. kazumi213

    Member kazumi213 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    Spain
    1. Load the JPN ROM with DSlazy, and press "unpack" on DS lazy. // Here the JPN ROM is either 0864 - SimCity or 1103 - Hoshigami.
    2. Copy the "arm7.bin" file and paste it i.e. on desktop.
    3. Now load the protected (not working) ROM with DSlazy and unpack (same as in Step 1) // Here the protected ROM is either 1158 - Zelda JPN, 1159 - SimCity EUR, 1170 - SimCity USA or 1181 - Hoshigami USA.
    4. Copy the "arm7.bin" you got at Step 1 and paste it into the folder where the unpacked protected ROM is, overwritting the "arm7.bin" there.
    5. Now click "REPACK" on DSLAZY. // It is assumed you didn't close DSlazy after unpacking the protected ROM (Step 3)
    6 it will prompt you to rename it. // A .NDS file named as you choose will be generated. This is the unprotected ROM.
    7. then put the unprotected ROM on your card and try to play normally.
     
  16. Dawgplg

    Newcomer Dawgplg Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    I can confirm this works on DS-X 4GB. And it saving too. Not sure if it will save until the end..
     
  17. nicolicious

    Newcomer nicolicious Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    these are really great instructions....

    1. Load the JPN ROM with DSlazy, and press "unpack" on DS lazy. // Here the JPN ROM is either 0864 - SimCity or 1103 - Hoshigami.
    2. Copy the "arm7.bin" file and paste it i.e. on desktop.
    3. Now load the protected (not working) ROM with DSlazy and unpack (same as in Step 1) // Here the protected ROM is either 1158 - Zelda JPN, 1159 - SimCity EUR, 1170 - SimCity USA or 1181 - Hoshigami USA.
    4. Copy the "arm7.bin" you got at Step 1 and paste it into the folder where the unpacked protected ROM is, overwritting the "arm7.bin" there.
    5. Now click "REPACK" on DSLAZY. // It is assumed you didn't close DSlazy after unpacking the protected ROM (Step 3)
    6 it will prompt you to rename it. // A .NDS file named as you choose will be generated. This is the unprotected ROM.
    7. then put the unprotected ROM on your card and try to play normally.

    but seeing as im a mac user and im just borrowing my girls windows laptop, im not sure im gettin step one even....

    how to you load anything with DSlazy? everytime i clik on it or drag something on to it it says...the application failed to initilize properly... click ok to terminate?

    any further info on where im going wrong would really be appreciated....i ve googled this topic and everyone seems to point to this thread ....thanks
     
  18. Phoenix_de_Wrigh

    Newcomer Phoenix_de_Wrigh Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Canada
    Does this only work for DS-X? because I tried this method on the R4, and I still couldn't play it.
     
  19. supachimp

    Newcomer supachimp Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, it works for the dsx just tried it with the Hoshigami one. Was def. a lil tricky to patch, had we not had those instructions. To whoever got that application error. You need to download .net runtime. Here's the link for it: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details...&displaylang=en

    This is very easy to do just as long as you follow the directions. Keep in mind DONT dl the (J) version of Zelda. I was under the impression it had to be the same game but its clearly just to lift the protection on it.

    Thanks to those that helped. Took me two hours to find this info and figure it out.

    My recommendation? trash the dsx' obsolete
     
  20. Apsilon

    Newcomer Apsilon Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United Arab Emirates
    Yep works perfectly for US zelda and creates save file using DS-Xtreme cart
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page