Homeplugs have "power saving" mode

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by AdamBrunt, Sep 18, 2011.

Sep 18, 2011
  1. AdamBrunt
    OP

    Member AdamBrunt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    688
    Country:
    Hi,

    A couple of weeks ago, after my comtrend homeplugs bit the dust, I purchased these and whilst they are working fine (and the speeds I am getting are excellent) they seem to have some sort of power saving mode built into them.

    I use them to give my Wii a wired connection to the internet but when I turn the Wii on I need to run a couple of "internet connection tests" in order for the homeplugs to wake up and I have to do this now before I can use any app on the Wii. Once the test is done then everything is fine until the Wii has been turned off for a few hours.

    Is there any way I can disable this "power saving" mode so that the homeplugs are always on ? Or alternatively is there any sort of app I can on the PC or Wii that constantly 'pings' the homeplugs ? Unlike the comtrend ones I did have, these homeplugs don't see to have their own IP addresses so I am not sure this would work anyway.

    Regards,

    Adam
     
  2. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden

    Well if they have an IP... start -> cmd -> ping -t

    Or you could always leave the Wii in connect24 mode (or whatever its called)
     
  3. AdamBrunt
    OP

    Member AdamBrunt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    688
    Country:
    I thought I tried that - I'll take another look
     
  4. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    If that doesnt help, the Wii should at least have an IP 24/7, and then you could ping it every now and then. If THAT doesnt work, I have no idea whats wrong lol.
     
  5. AdamBrunt
    OP

    Member AdamBrunt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    688
    Country:
    The wii was already in connect24 mode and the homeplug still goes into sleep mode.

    Ob well, it's a small price to pay for now - only takes a few internet "connection tests" to wake it up so not too bad.
     
  6. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    How about returning them and getting some working ones?
     
  7. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    I dont know how your internet connection setup looks like in your house, I also dont know what the prices are where you live.
    But here at least, decent homeplugs costs the same as a decent wireless router, if not more.

    That would be the best option tbh, and just use the Wii's wireless connection.

    Ive never been a fan of homeplugs, as Ive always found them unreliable and slow, compared to similar priced wireless routers.
     
  8. AdamBrunt
    OP

    Member AdamBrunt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    688
    Country:
    Wifi in my house (very thick internal walls) is absolutely painful compared to homeplugs.
     
  9. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    get the Apower ones they don't have sleep mode i use them on my pc all the time.
     
  10. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    try something like pinging the wii from the pc every 10min
    and maybe try pinging other ports too
    80 for example
    you wont get a reply but maybe it keeps the plugs awake
     

Share This Page