homebrews never work for me =\

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by R1C3 N1NJA, Aug 28, 2007.

Aug 28, 2007
  1. R1C3 N1NJA
    OP

    Member R1C3 N1NJA GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    United States
    any homebrew that needs wi-fi never works for meee...... and yes i have wi-fi.... well like ds aim it always says cant connect to wifi or w/e and same thing witha bunch of other stuff
     
  2. kellyan95

    Banned kellyan95 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    United States
    "Homebrew" is the plural of "homebrew". Try manually putting in every setting. Do WFC games work?
     
  3. R1C3 N1NJA
    OP

    Member R1C3 N1NJA GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    United States
    yeah they workk
     
  4. kellyan95

    Banned kellyan95 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    United States
    Don't leave anything set to "automatic," set everything manually in the WFC screen and then try an app like DSO that connects directly to the internet
     
  5. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Do commercial WiFi games will work fine when you try to connect?

    If you have SSID reporting turned off in your router, it won't connect with homebrew apps, but commercial games will.

    Try enabling SSID reporting if homebrew WiFi is important to you.

    My normal setup is SSID reporting off, WEP encryption enabled and MAC filtering enabled. Homebrew won't connect that way.

    Turning ON SSID reporting let's the DSOrganize web-browser connect, where it didn't before. Most, if not all, homebrew is like that.

    SSID is the culprit, all other settings can be left alone. It MUST be enabled for homebrew WiFi.


    Hope that helps you.
     
  6. kellyan95

    Banned kellyan95 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    United States

    So, you manually set the SSID in the WFC settings and it worked, but not for homebrew? Strange

    PS: What do you think about my avatar? About time that I got one! The Offspring ROCK!
     
  7. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Er...no. SSID is turned on and off through the router's settings, not the DS's.
     
  8. pootman

    Newcomer pootman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    For me, what made the difference was changing WEP from shared to open.

    What are you trying to connect it to?

    Shouldn't this be in the wifi forum if the problem isn't booting the homebrew?
     
  9. dm2000

    Newcomer dm2000 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Italy
    Try to use a wireless radio channel in between 5 and 11.

    dm
     

Share This Page