Homebrew screenshot app

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Stevis, Jul 28, 2008.

Jul 28, 2008

Homebrew screenshot app by Stevis at 12:49 AM (1,167 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Stevis
    OP

    Newcomer Stevis Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    I've seen countless screenshots of various apps/games on this board and many other places, and it makes me think there is some sort of screenshot app. I know one exists for the PSP, so I'm curious if somehting similar exists for the DS.

    Thanks.
     
  2. chuckstudios

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
    No. Screenshots of games are made with a device only available to Nintendo developers, and screenshots of homebrew are made with emulators or custom routines written by the developer.
     
  3. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States

    I highlighted the useful information
     
  4. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    The funny thing is that a real time save file is indeed a screenshot, or atleast you can get a screenshot out of a rts file if you know the real time save format
     
  5. Stevis
    OP

    Newcomer Stevis Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, well since I'm neither a Nintendo dev nor a homebrew dev, it seems I'm out of luck. Thanks for the help.
     
  6. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    Really. EMULATOR
     
  7. TheWingless

    Member TheWingless Wafuu~

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034
    Country:
    United States
    I believe there was a request on the TeamCyclops board for this screenshot feature. I think they were "thinking" about it as quite a few people wanted it. But they were limited to .BMP and could only save to the 2mb flash(I think). So it maybe a feature if you own a Cyclo, unless they have changed their mind recently. This isn't "homebrew" though...
     
  8. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Only one program can run on the DS at a time, so you wouldn't be able to run both the screenshot app and the DS game at the same time. The best you could do would be to patch the game to recognize a keystroke and save a screenshot of the main screen (which is arbitrarily chosen by the developers) somewhere, converting it to a useful format upon the next bootup. This is what the CycloDS Evo devs were attempting to do, but it seems they got stuck, which is understandable.
     

Share This Page