homebrew request: is it possible

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by robiul, Feb 5, 2010.

Feb 5, 2010
  1. robiul
    OP

    Member robiul GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    538
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United States
    to create a program that shuts down a tv/monitor?
     
  2. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Uhm...wait what? Hell no. N-E-V-E-R. How the hell should the Wii give commands to a TV?

    There's a reason TV Remotes exists, you know?

    This might be the best GBATemp-Fail Topic of all time...
     
  3. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Simple answer: NO
     
  4. yesjohn

    Newcomer yesjohn Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    the netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    trow a wii mote to your tv and you're done [​IMG]
     
  5. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    LOL. It's simple and effective, and almost guaranteed to turn it off, assuming you don't miss when throwing the wiimote.
     
  6. robiul
    OP

    Member robiul GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    538
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United States
    same way windows can shut down the monitor?
     
  7. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    This is actually more a function of the monitor then the computer.

    When the "turn off monitor" timer in Windows runs out, the computer simply stops outputting a signal (or a portion of it anyway). PC Monitors are designed to switch to standby when their input disappears and the video cable is still connected (most display "Check Cable" otherwise).

    TVs are usually designed to display a blue screen or a "No Signal!" message.

    I think it's time you get a TV remote.
     
  8. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,124
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Hmm...at first, I was thinking "the wiimote sends commands (infrared, I guess) to the wii. If the wii could somehow send that 'shutdown' command to the TV...".

    ...then I realised that the connection from the wii to the TV (scart or RGB) is a one-way traffic. It can send video and audio...and that's it. So indeed...by itself, it's never going to happen.


    I like the idea, though. If I was an electronics student, I'd probably start up a project to fuse a wiimote and a stripped down universal remote. Alas...I don't know jack about those things. I'd more than likely break both the things.
     
  9. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,433
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    most (recent) TV are also designed to auto-shutdown after a long blue-screen period.
    But you better walk to the TV and switch it off yourself instead of waiting 15min to see if it's gonna happen. [​IMG]
     
  10. DKAngel

    Member DKAngel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    Perth,Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    strap a tv remote to the wiiremote
     
  11. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    I guess you search shutdownii

    [​IMG]


    No, its not possible to shut down the TV with the Wii...
     
  12. Chris_Skylock

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    Here...have a cookie, instead
     
  13. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    It's actually not as far fetched as it sounds. The Sensor Bar contains infrared LEDs... the same LEDs found in many remote controls. There's even a channel available in japan (called either TV Friend channel or TV Guide channel, depending on the translation) that seems to use the sensor bar to change channels and adjust the volume.
    The big BUT is that even if you manage to get a program written that can modulate the sensor bar just right, it would have to be pointing at the tv receiver.
     
  14. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    In theory you could hook two sensor bars to the wii, assuming you made a Y adapter for the port. Sad thing is a sensor bar costs more than a universal TV remote.
     
  15. Hells Malice

    Member Hells Malice Are you a bully?

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5,651
    Country:
    Canada
    In theory, you could also just buy a remote for 7$ and be happy. [​IMG]

    There really is very little point in making your Wii do something a remote can already do.
     
  16. Julian Sidewind

    Member Julian Sidewind GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    mirror?
     
  17. Satan2k

    Newcomer Satan2k Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Belgium
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Most pointless topic ever!
     

Share This Page