1. AlexFili

    OP AlexFili GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    With all due respect to the hard working developers, the emulators on the PS Vita are appauling in terms of quality.
    When I played emulators on PSP for GBA, Megadrive, SNES, NES, GBC, they all worked flawlessly and were really good in terms of emulation, with maybe SNES struggling.
    When I try all these emulators on Vita they either do not work, do not load the roms properly or the run really slowly.

    I am using the 1000 PS Vita model. Am I doing something wrong or are all the emulators terrible?
     
    Panzer_Baboon likes this.
  2. sloppycrap

    sloppycrap Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    Yes, you're doing something wrong.
     
    duwen and dubsmachine like this.
  3. SuperDan

    SuperDan Im Aware ... Im Unaware
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    2,382
    Country:
    United States
    Nahh you're way off they mostly work perfect with Retroarch
     
  4. Condarkness_XY

    Condarkness_XY GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2018
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    United States
    Are you using adrenaline or vhbl or doing something else? They shouldn't be bad especially those that you named as they were simply ported from psp to vita.

    My guess is that your doing something wrong.
     
  5. AlexFiliUK

    AlexFiliUK Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Okay I must be doing something wrong then. Would you recommend me setting up Retroarch? Is it easy to get PSP homebrew running on Vita with vitashell?
     
  6. SuperDan

    SuperDan Im Aware ... Im Unaware
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    2,382
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah I would recommend Retroarch .. No N64 for Vita tho . It's dead simple to set up . Just make sure that you put the bios in the right place... But it works great... For most retro stuff.... There is a app for PSP hombrew . Psp Homebrew app .. ... But I would NOT use psp for emulators .. Except for PS1 . But Adrenaline is both ps1 & psp ..
     
  7. sloppycrap

    sloppycrap Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    You need to tell us what you want to do before we can tell you how to do it.
     
    Last edited by sloppycrap, Jun 18, 2019
  8. AlexFiliUK

    AlexFiliUK Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'll try retroarch and see if that works. Thanks for the help.
     
  9. ArugulaZ

    ArugulaZ GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    667
    Country:
    United States
    I think I know what he's talking about, though. There are a handful of standalone emulators on Vita that don't run smoothly. I tried using them myself and wasn't satisfied with them. You're definitely better off sticking with PFBA for arcade games, and RetroArch for everything else. There's also a pretty good Amiga emulator if you're into that system, although it takes a while to get it started. And oh yeah, Spectrum too, but that computer is really dated and is tough to go back to unless you grew up with it.
     
  10. duwen

    duwen Old Man Yoshi
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,128
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ChocolateDoom is a great port of the Doom 'emulator' on Vita, and Cannonball (the 'enhanced' Outrun emulator is great on Vita, although it has a few moments of slow-down. Other 'stand-alone' emus that are good; SCUMMVM, and the "home micro" emus (speccy, amiga, etc).

    ...but to reiterate what's already been said; use Adrenaline for virtually perfect PSP/PS1 emulation, PFBA for arcade emulation, and Retroarch for consoles/handhelds (and experiment with using the various cores to see which results you prefer).
     
  11. kristianity77

    kristianity77 GBATemp old fogey
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,616
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    To be fair the emulation isn't great on vita for some of the machines he's mentioned. Snes is hit and miss and a lot of the more demanding games have performance issues. Same with gba.

    To be fair though, genesis and anything 8 bit is pretty much perfect.
     
  12. yeshuachrist

    yeshuachrist GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    539
    Country:
    United States
    the emulator on vita don't take the common short cuts, like not using 48000 hz audio but using 22000 hz audio, reducing the render resolution, and so forth.

    they are designed very well, too well for the vita. if sony made another handheld device that got hacked it would be a big win, but, only a few games work, maybe try the retropie, its susposed to be updated next year or something.

    retroarch the emulator cores in there have some of those options, but, not all games work well. if you just wanted to try out super mario that works good.
     
    Last edited by yeshuachrist, Jun 19, 2019
  13. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    i cannot believe this post. Vita retroarch is soooo good. If you have pstv I mean you can even play 4 player! That is nutz. the ps1 emu via the flows awesome work is incredible! It even lets you mod psp gta camera. Heck if you don't like the nes emu in retroarch the psp mode nes emu is great! That is how good vita emu is! So basically you need correct files. Retroarch is the answer on vita. Make sure you have bios setup. Get your psp mode sorted. And enjoy an absolute portable emu beast! I even have my ps3 controller working wireless and had this dope stand I would use when out and about.

    Then well the switch got hacked...and um there she is I see the old lady...I miss her. She collects dust now. But when I actively played it. Vita was IMPRESSIVE emu wise!
     
    MUDD_BR likes this.
  14. AlexFili

    OP AlexFili GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    When I played Doom there was no music... am I doing something wrong?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - emulators, Homebrew, quality