Homebrew Problem on Update

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by sharpshooter8269, Dec 16, 2009.

Dec 16, 2009
  1. sharpshooter8269
    OP

    Newcomer sharpshooter8269 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    ARIZONA
    Country:
    United States
    Hi. I'm new here but I usually go to this website for help and couldn't find my problem in particular. My wii use to be on a 3.4u firmware. I am using the homebrew channel the neo gamma launcher with the rev14 for wii games and the gamecube launcher 0.2 for gamecube backups. So I made a backup copy for Wii Super Mario Bros. Wii and I updated through the disk channel. It is now a 4.1u firmware. The Mario game works fine and so does my other wii back ups, but my gamecube back ups just fail. All of them. I believe it was because when I updated, the ciosrev14 didn't get patched but the mios file was patched so it disappeared. The reason is because when I tried to play my gamecube backups, it launches, enters a black screen, and resets the wii. So I tried to repatch it, but thats when the homebrew problem comes in. When I get through the hombrew channel and use something like the patcher, wad manager, or emulators, the wii enters the loading screen, but it never loads. It seems like it freezes, but the hand icon from the remote is still moving.

    So I just wanted to know. Is there a way to fix this? Oh. I have a 1GB SD card which had all my old files for homebrew that includes the hack and apps. Do I need to delete them? Or is there a new updated homebrew channel for the 4.1u firmware? I also had some channels saved in the sd card through that new feature. Don't know if that would cause the sd card to be read differently by homebrew. Sorry if I seem like a noob.
     
  2. Dialexio

    Member Dialexio GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,546
    Country:
    United States
    Welcome to the forums. [​IMG] You are correct; all you have to do is re-run the MIOS patcher.
     
  3. sharpshooter8269
    OP

    Newcomer sharpshooter8269 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    ARIZONA
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you very much for the welcome and your assistence. [​IMG] And I did try to re-run the MIOS patcher, but I can't because of the homebrew channel. If I run any program, it just enters the loading screen and "freezes." I mean, I heard that homebrew works better on different firmware like the 3.2u. The homebrew channel I am currently using was from the twilight hack package for the 3.2u firmware back in 2008. Is there a new version of Homebrew for the 4.1u firmware? Is it my sd card thats the problem? Should I try to downgrade?
     
  4. Dialexio

    Member Dialexio GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,546
    Country:
    United States
    Try updating the Homebrew Channel. (The HBC installer is now the HackMii installer.)
     
  5. sharpshooter8269
    OP

    Newcomer sharpshooter8269 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    ARIZONA
    Country:
    United States
    Okay. So I installed the Hackmi through the smash stack method. I have the latest homebrew channel now, but my wii-mote doesn't sync to my wii anymore. I tried to actually re-sync it but it didn't work. Plus there is that new boot-mi thing that appears when you open the wii. Is there a way to fix this and can i get rid of the bootmii thing?
     
  6. sharpshooter8269
    OP

    Newcomer sharpshooter8269 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    ARIZONA
    Country:
    United States
    Nevermind. Tried the wii-mote the next day and everything works perfectly again. That mios patcher ran and so did my other homebrew apps. Loaders is up aand running again and I didn't need to downgrade. I just want to thank Dialexio for being such a great help. [​IMG]
     
  7. Dialexio

    Member Dialexio GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,546
    Country:
    United States
    Glad to hear everything's working like a charm. [​IMG]

    BootMii is appearing every time you boot up because it detected that your SD card is set up for use with BootMii.

    If you don't want BootMii to appear every time you start up your Wii, you can delete the files form the SD card. If you have a spare SD card, I would recommend setting up a spare for use with BootMii.
     
  8. sharpshooter8269
    OP

    Newcomer sharpshooter8269 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    ARIZONA
    Country:
    United States
    Oh. Okay. Thanks!! [​IMG]
     

Share This Page