Homebrew on R4?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by mike1984, Nov 2, 2007.

Nov 2, 2007

Homebrew on R4? by mike1984 at 12:08 AM (1,036 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. mike1984
    OP

    Member mike1984 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    Canada
    So i'm a homebrew n00b. I've never used a homebrew app before. So my question, what do I need to do to make it work on my R4? I would want to use DSO. Do I need to install some type of firmware or software before using it? What is this Moonshell thing.

    Yes, yes, I know i'm a damn n00b when it comes to this. Please don't verbally abuse me too much lol. [​IMG]
     
  2. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    Just drag and drop the Homebrew file on your MicroSD. And it'll work.

    ~Nero
     
  3. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    Have at least 1.10 or 1.11 on your R4, I can't remember which one to run homebrew.

    DSO, just drag and drop.

    Moonshell is a media player that comes with the R4. It plays music, videos, and has an imageviewer. Plays only .dpg videos, however.

    Have fun! [​IMG]
     
  4. mike1984
    OP

    Member mike1984 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    Canada
    Awesome. Man, you guys have an answer for everything! [​IMG]

    Umm, so if I store appointments and schedule events and stuff, where does it save? On the microSD card on a .sav file or what?
     
  5. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    Yup. To the DSO .sav file.
     
  6. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    It just saves it to DSOrganize.nds

    Basically, the nds file of DSO is it's own savefile.

    ~Nero
     
  7. mike1984
    OP

    Member mike1984 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    Canada
    I see. What websites work well with the browser in DSO? Are there lots of red x'es everywhere lol?
     
  8. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    The browser is basically perfect.

    I don't think it can do Flash/Youtube though. (someone confirm this?)

    ~Nero
     
  9. mike1984
    OP

    Member mike1984 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    Canada
    YES! Handheld pr0n [​IMG]
     
  10. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't know, but I think that it makes sense that only Slot 2's with RAM expansions can run flash and stuff like that. I dunno, someone verify.
     
  11. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]

    Just like the PSP.

    ~Nero
     
  12. War

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    For some reason, I cant get the browser to work. i think someone should make a tutorial or something.
     
  13. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    Did you set up your Wi-Fi settings?

    ~Nero
     
  14. Banger

    Member Banger Me > | | < You ..Wanna Line dance?

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,783
    Country:
    United States
    I wonder if I have the same issue as Warcueid, maybe so. I can not seem to be able to connect anything that would need internet for it. Yeah I have my Wi-Fi and such setup correct. I really did not fuss with it after finding I was unable to click to load it, how ever ndsmail seems to work find except I think I might be unable to send mail which I will look into tomorrow when I wake up along with the DSOrganize problem.
     
  15. sylux92

    Member sylux92 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    United States
    Youre wrong. It creates the files inside the /dsorganize folder in the subfolders. Ex: It saves reminders in the "reminders" folder, contact info in the "vcard" folder, and so on.
     

Share This Page