Homebrew on a PS2

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by Prime, Jun 18, 2008.

Jun 18, 2008

Homebrew on a PS2 by Prime at 9:52 AM (1,431 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. Prime
    OP

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What are the options to run homebrew on a ps2 (fat version)?
     
  2. xalphax

    Member xalphax Internet killed the Ponystar.

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,266
    Location:
    here'n'there
    Country:
    Croatia
  3. Prime
    OP

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nobody i know has a ps2 with a mod chip.

    next option..?
     
  4. xalphax

    Member xalphax Internet killed the Ponystar.

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,266
    Location:
    here'n'there
    Country:
    Croatia
    you can also install it via use of action replay + the usual swap trick.
     
  5. DaRk_ViVi

    Member DaRk_ViVi ...is everywhere!

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,014
    Location:
    Asti, Italy
    Country:
    Italy
    I actually have a modded ps2 and a spare Memory card and i would like to install this thing to it.
    Can you please help me doing that? I downloaded the file and it has a .elf file in it but i don't know how to run it on the modded ps2.
    Does it need something more to add the "loader" to the memory card or the elf is the only thing needed for the installation (i actually want it just for backups/region free). [​IMG]
     
  6. Prime
    OP

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Don't nick my topic DaRk_ViVi [​IMG]

    Joking

    Ok, i'll look into that. Thanks xalphax
     
  7. DaRk_ViVi

    Member DaRk_ViVi ...is everywhere!

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,014
    Location:
    Asti, Italy
    Country:
    Italy
    Sorry man (check your pm btw [​IMG]), but it's probably the only way to run them without the use of a swap disk (don't know if this runs backup or not) or a modchip. [​IMG]
     
  8. Prime
    OP

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm only joking, you don't need to be sorry.
     
  9. xalphax

    Member xalphax Internet killed the Ponystar.

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,266
    Location:
    here'n'there
    Country:
    Croatia
    this is how you launch the elf from a cd:

    http://www.sksapps.com/index.php?page=bootelf.html
     
  10. Prime
    OP

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    xalphax got a link to a guide on the action replay + the usual swap trick?
     
  11. DaRk_ViVi

    Member DaRk_ViVi ...is everywhere!

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,014
    Location:
    Asti, Italy
    Country:
    Italy
    Great! ^^
    So after i create the cd with that elf i just put it into the ps2 and it will install the mc boot to the mc?
    Does it load every backup or just the prepatched ones?
     
  12. xalphax

    Member xalphax Internet killed the Ponystar.

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,266
    Location:
    here'n'there
    Country:
    Croatia
  13. xalphax

    Member xalphax Internet killed the Ponystar.

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,266
    Location:
    here'n'there
    Country:
    Croatia
    http://www.psx-scene.com/forums/freevast/5...ublic-beta.html
    you have to patch them with the memento patcher, maybe that will become obsolete in the future, at least i hope so.
     

Share This Page