Homebrew channel wont connect to the internet but my wii does :/

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by kokiri_link, May 31, 2008.

  1. kokiri_link
    OP

    Member kokiri_link GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As topic says.

    Netgear router, wii connects fine, but homebrew channel wont. Any help?
     
  2. Arakon

    Member Arakon GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    307
    Country:
    Germany
    make sure you have no GC memcards plugged in.
     
  3. kokiri_link
    OP

    Member kokiri_link GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No gamecube memory cards plugged in :/
     
  4. LordWill072284

    Member LordWill072284 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    186
    Location:
    Nova Scotia
    Country:
    Canada
    i got a netgear pre-n router also, both wii and homebrew channel displays my ip, check router settings for anything you manually added like port fowarding/firewall ports maybe
     
  5. kokiri_link
    OP

    Member kokiri_link GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the suggestion, but i dont even have the ip adress showing in the channel. Just says network not initialised, and i havent forwarded any ports and the connection to the wii isnt firewalled. Basically al i did when i set up my wiis wifi connection, is ut in my ssid, and my wep key. Sometimes it doesnt connect, but it has been recently. Just that channel.

    EDIT: It just connected.
     
  6. Eternal Myst

    Member Eternal Myst Back from the Myst.

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,634
    Location:
    I have a bomb alallalallala
    Country:
    United States
    What is the use of connecting to the internet with the homebrew channel
     
  7. Arakon

    Member Arakon GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    307
    Country:
    Germany
    updating and sending dol/elf files through network to the wii.
     
  8. kokiri_link
    OP

    Member kokiri_link GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is it supposed to update first time you use it? Because mine didnt.
     
  9. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No...

    There is no update out for it yet.
     
  10. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    updating the homebrew channel

    EDIT: whoops dp, sorry.
     
  11. killplaystation

    Member killplaystation GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    467
    Country:
    United States
    im having the same issue. The wii connects just fine, but not the HBC. I have a dlink router. I have Static IP's for all my computers and my 360 but not for my wii. I also have MAC addresss filtering on for my router but my wii's MAC address is added to the accept-list. Is it possible the HBC is projecting a different address or something? idk what to think. Any ideas? or questions?
    Thanks
     
  12. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Maybe the site that hbc tries to connect is down. If you talk about the wiiload thing, when loading elfs through it your wii act as a server, so your pc becomes the client. It uses the port 4299, maybe it's firewalled.
     

Share This Page