Homebrew Channel Replaced System Menu?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by spiderjjr45, Dec 25, 2009.

Dec 25, 2009
  1. spiderjjr45
    OP

    Newcomer spiderjjr45 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know how I did it, or why, but everytime I try to go to my Wii Menu, I get sent to the Homebrew channel. Even if I'm in the homebrew channel and I try to go back to the Wii Menu, it just reloads the system menu...

    How do I get my Home screen back? [​IMG]
     
  2. beegee7730

    Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you have Bootmii - Boot2?
    If not, hold reset when powering on, it should bring up a menu.
    Go into the options, and change "Autoboot" to System Menu.
     
  3. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Sounds to me like Pre/Priiloader. Turn you Wii on, hold immediately reset, and if a Menu comes up, go to settings-->

    Autoboot-->Sysmenu
    Return to -->Sysmenu

    And it will behave like the real wii.
     
  4. spiderjjr45
    OP

    Newcomer spiderjjr45 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    Preloader's set to go to System Menu.

    I tried to go to the system Menu from Preloader now, it sent me to the homebrew channel.

    Tried to go to the system menu from BootMii, it sent me to homebrew channel.

    How do I simply reinstall my system menu?
     
  5. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    dont do that. HBC cannot ever replace your system menu. to go messing with the system menu when you obviously know little about it is very, very stupid. just take your time. and figure our the REAL reason for this. it is either preloader or bootmii.

    if it happens every time you go to the system menu, its preloader. bootmii will only do it when you first turn on the wii. so now you know what one is causing it. the other people have told you how to fix it.
     
  6. jackdanielchan

    Member jackdanielchan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    539
    Country:
    Japan
    Have you tried the BootMii Configuration application?
     
  7. Adr990

    Member Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Jack, it can't be BootMii config settings, since he can access Preloader. So BootMii doesn't boot HBC.
    Besides, he would know why HBC booted other wise, if he did edit it.

    Anyhow. which Preloader you've installer? (like.. Priiloader or Preloader.)

    Just check the settings and hacks in Preloader. There's something wrong with that for sure.
     
  8. Hells Guardian

    Member Hells Guardian GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,113
    Country:
    United States
    try a different version of preloader.......
     
  9. Conundrum1911

    Newcomer Conundrum1911 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Canada
    Priiloader or Preloader? Ever since I upgraded to Priiloader 0.2 (from Preloader .30) even with autoboot and return to set to systemmenu, it always starts up to Priiloader (but returns to the systemmenu properly).
     
  10. spiderjjr45
    OP

    Newcomer spiderjjr45 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    Preloader 0.30 is my edition,

    Also, Preloader now freezes on me if I try to go to the system menu from the Preloader menu; I can tell something's definently up with my System Menu. I'm hoping I can fix it without a brick.

    All I have to do is access the Wii Shop Channel, does anyone have any idea how to get to it without the Wii Menu?
     
  11. Hells Guardian

    Member Hells Guardian GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,113
    Country:
    United States
    why not just reinstall the system menu wad with wad manager from the HBC? you will have to reinstall preloader and any hacks you applied but it should restore your abitlity to boot system menu. Like I said try a different preloader though......
     
  12. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    unless you installed permanent hacks to your system menu or hacked up its IOS, there is nothing wrong with your system menu. I believe this is still a problem caused by preloader and whatever settings you have there. what do you hope to accomplish by getting to the shop channel?

    well, regardless of what you think you can do in the shop channel to fix this, I made some bootmii/mini elf files that can load it without the system menu. http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=198699

    but i strongly suggest you just tinker with the settings in preloader before this turns into another "oh noez, i haz briked mi wii!! pleez halp" thread.
     
  13. spiderjjr45
    OP

    Newcomer spiderjjr45 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    I just need to add some more points to my account to get some DLC for Rock Band. I don't need the System Menu at all. Thank you very much giantprune for the elf files.
     
  14. bdr9

    Member bdr9 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    558
    Country:
    United States
    The only thing I can think of is that there is something up with Preloader. I would just try reinstalling a system menu wad. You can get one with NUS Downloader.
     
  15. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    You're a bit slow. That's already been said. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page