Holy cow! FFIV will be huge!

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by GeekyGuy, Oct 31, 2007.

Oct 31, 2007

Holy cow! FFIV will be huge! by GeekyGuy at 6:41 PM (6,671 Views / 0 Likes) 50 replies

  1. GeekyGuy
    OP

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    GoNintendo has reported:

    "Final Fantasy IV is a big game no doubt, but it is coming on a big DS card as well. The card comes in at 1 gigabit, or 128 mb for those wondering. The extra space is needed for all the voice work in the game. Voice work wasn’t planned for the remake at the start, but obviously that changed once development got underway."

    Yikes! Time to get a bigger microSD. Good thing the CycloDS accomodates larger cards. [​IMG]
     


  2. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Won't effect me, got a nice 4 gig CF, only problem is the god damn CGI cutscenes, I'm so bored with them on the DS!
     
  3. DBlaze

    Member DBlaze I don't know what i'm doing.

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    178
    Country:
    Netherlands
    wasn't final fantasy III 128MB?
     
  4. Elrinth

    Member Elrinth :Master beyond your imagination:

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,795
    Location:
    Home @ UMEÅ
    Country:
    Sweden
    what? there's already a few games out in 128 mbyte... Final Fantasy 3, Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles Ring of Fates is 128mbyte.
    I think Elite Beat Agents is that large
    and so is probably loads of other games. [​IMG]
     
  5. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,456
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    Crash of the Titans. And the game is so short, too.
     
  6. Harsky

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why stop at 1 gigabit, Ash proves you can make it 2 gigabit
     
  7. Issac

    Member Issac Mini-mod

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,454
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    wasn't ASH even bigger?
     
  8. lagman

    Former Staff lagman I wish I was green.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4,071
    Location:
    Me, To You
    Country:
    Mexico
    Yes it was.
    There's already a bigger game on the NDS A.S.H. -256MB-
     
  9. GeekyGuy
    OP

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, I read it wrong. I was thinkin' it said gigabyte. Oops. [​IMG]
     
  10. Ducky

    Member Ducky QUACKJECTION!

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Location:
    Duckling Land!
    Country:
    Israel
    Can't be 1GB.. 128 MB is the max a NDS Game card could hold.. Nintendo will not let anything bigger then that due to the fact it WONT WORK on the DS !
     
  11. Grimalkin

    Member Grimalkin Waaaaaaaah!

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,173
    Country:
    Canada
    Wrong, Archaic Sealed Heat is 256 mb (two gigabits for those who keep track that way). Nice try though.
     
  12. silentreapr

    Member silentreapr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Behind you
    Country:
    New Zealand
    And.. just tell everyone again why anything bigger than 128mb won't work on the DS? I was told theoretically DS games could be as big as 512mb, but I'm sure they can go even higher.
     
  13. War

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    I'm not really worried, I have 1G left on one of my cards, and I have an untouched 2Gb card just in case. :3
     
  14. NemesisHunter

    Member NemesisHunter GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    Canada
    So is this game slated to be released in a 1 Gigabit or 1 gigaBYTE kart? 128MB VS 1024MB is a whole lot of difference here...
     
  15. TanookiSuit

    Member TanookiSuit Game Reviewer/Writer -- formerly Vampire Hunter D

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,552
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Country:
    United States
    Theoretically the NES stopped at 32kb games, but that didn't stop Castlevania 3 from being 512kb. Same story can be said for GB, SNES (theretically 32mb, but star ocean was more,) etc down the line. A handful at least at 'legal' levels never breached the so called cap with GBA(32mbyte) and N64(512mbit) coming to mind.

    Though I have to wonder...if Ash is on a 2gbit card (and it is) why the hell was DQ9 shown on 2 cards?!
     
  16. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah... ASH is 256 MB which is one huge-ass game.

    ~Nero
     
  17. jesterscourt

    Member jesterscourt Not Brad.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,153
    Country:
    United States
    I thought that DQ9 pic was just a mockup?
     
  18. sonic209

    Member sonic209 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    658
    Country:
    United States
    no actually the games can only go as big as 256MB(2 gig) heres proof read the media specifications section
     
  19. Grimalkin

    Member Grimalkin Waaaaaaaah!

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,173
    Country:
    Canada


    The bad part about referencing wikipedia is that they cannot post theoretical data. 256 MB may be the current max, but solid state media cards can get very very big. Theoretically, solid state media can be infinite (current theoretical specifications is that they can 'theoretically' achieve an exabyte, 10^18).
     
  20. TanookiSuit

    Member TanookiSuit Game Reviewer/Writer -- formerly Vampire Hunter D

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,552
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not buying the media specs on wiki. I'm sure there are some DS 'warioworld.com' leaked tech specs abound somewhere. Show me that. I've had copies of them for the GBC and GBA, also seen the N64 and GC versions too and they're fun reads.

    As Grim said, in theory there is no limit (aside from astronomical costs.)


    ...and jester, if it was a mockup, cool...but I never paid much attention other than seeing the questionable box art/setup.
     

Share This Page