1. rustymonkey

    OP rustymonkey Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    so basically i want a ds for teh games, pda, and vids and songs. info is harder to get for ds than xbox modding imo
    anyway think i need the following

    nds lite
    pass thing
    m3/supercard
    memory card(compactflash/sd)

    no idea if i'm right but have some qs. can i still play online after changing the firmware and stuff?
    and is there some guide?
     
  2. carloandreacchio

    carloandreacchio GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    Country:
    Well you need a nds lite to be able to play any nds games/applications
    pass thing, i think you mean passcard/passkey, which allows you to run unsigned homebrew from the gba slot
    m3/supercard, these are the most popular cards around as they allow you to run the homebrew off cf/sd/minisd cards

    yes you can still play online after changing firmware
     
  3. RayorDragonFall

    RayorDragonFall I see you've played knifey-spoony before.
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,196
    Country:
    Rustymonkey, for the m3 pda utility you have to download a file and copy it into your cf or sd, I think. Its located here, in the download section.
    It looks like there's only a chinese version of the pda, but there is an english version on the works. [​IMG]

    RDF
     
  4. wohoo

    wohoo GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    490
    Country:
    isn't the pda thing included in the two latest M3 firmware (e21 and e21b)? [​IMG]

    and btw, what exactly is pda? haha ;P

    edit: uhm.. i just googled pda and found the answear ;P "Personal Digital Assistant" "pocket computer"
     
  5. RayorDragonFall

    RayorDragonFall I see you've played knifey-spoony before.
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,196
    Country:
    wohoo, I have the lastest M3 firmware, e21b, and the pda option is there, but since I dont want a chinese pda, I haven't downloaded the files yet. When I select pda -> Cannot find PDA files! Please copy PDA files to root directory.

    RDF
     
  6. Veho

    Veho The man who cried "Ni".
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    9,626
    Country:
    Croatia
    A PDA function is added in the newest M3 firmware, but what about the Supercard, GBAMP, G6, EZFlash 4, etc. etc. ?
     
  7. serious_sean

    serious_sean GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    246
    Country:
    United States
    yawn.

    wake me when the m3 interface is integrated into the pda.

    i want to launch games, movies, and audiobooks from the same place.

    and how about some touch screen support?
     
  8. yuwing

    yuwing GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    Canada
    i know eh, what up with that! My gf was using my DS and she was tapping on the touchscreen and thought it was broken XD
     
  9. yuwing

    yuwing GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    Canada
    Get M3 pro if u want PDA functions. But also there's a really good hombrew for other PDA functions such as todo list, calendar, draw, edit txts, listen to mp3, looking at pictures called "DSorganize"
     
Draft saved Draft deleted