HIS Radeon X1650 Pro AGP not working

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by shakirmoledina, Jun 5, 2011.

Jun 5, 2011
  1. shakirmoledina
    OP

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    This is the follow up of this thread cuz the question was going away from the required goal.
    http://ask.gbatemp.net/2467/insert-his-rad...-into-pcie-slot

    Now has the card fried? It did finally fit into the PCIe slot but nothing seems to be working. Do i have to disable the onboard graphics card?
    Thanks
     
  2. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes.
     
  3. dilav

    Member dilav GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,225
    Country:
    United States
    AGP Video cards do not work on PCI Express slots.

    PCI Express x1, x4, x 8, x16 are interchangeable, depending on your motherboard and device you are using.
     
  4. shakirmoledina
    OP

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    i was using the PCIe without disabling onboard. Onboard didnt work until i removed PCIe completely. Now AGP wont work on PCIe.
    Thanks guys
     
  5. doyama

    Member doyama GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    Ok seriously you're just confusing me now. Post the following:


    1) Exact manufacturer and model of the motherboard you are using
    2) Exact model number of your video card. Consult the vendor of your card to see where the model number would be listed on it. It's usually imprinted on the PCB or on a sticker somewhere.
    3) Exact model number if it's some kind of Dell/HP/Compaq computer

    AGP and PCIe are absolutely incompatible, so one does not 'work' on the other. Unless your mobo was one of a few that has both AGP/PCIe slots, but considering it has an integrated video card this seems highly unlikely.
     
  6. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I thought that AGP cards wouldn't even fit in a PCIe port...

    EDIT: spelling correction... stupid iPad >.>
     
  7. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    What would be the best solution to this problem:
    a.When in doubt C4
    b.I reject your reality and substitute my own!
    c. Duh, C4 [​IMG]
    d.I thought I thaw a putty cat!?
     

Share This Page