Gaming High pitched noise on NDS Lite - possible fix ?

SpookySpock

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Hello,

using the "search" function, I haven't found a topic regarding this issue, especially about my question - I'm sorry if it has already been answered, I'm quite new to this :unsure:

My problem is regarding the high pitched sound emitted by the NDS Lite, that is often growing worse overtime. This youtube video shows it pretty well:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JJaHEpu9DI8

After some investigations, I now know the sound is coming (at least in my case) from the vibration between the bottom LCD screen and the touchscreen.

Usually the sound they both produce (individually) is not audible by the human ear, but the combination of the two panels lowers the combined pitch to our audible range. This is why touching the LCD+touchscreen with a stylus modify (or nullify) the sound, because the stylus is altering the combined vibration.

a) When the two panels are not aligned, only touching on a few points, no sound is produced.​
.​
b) When the LCD screen and the touchscreen are perfectly aligned and put together, the high pitched noise is produced.​

I tested it several times, with 2 different touchscreen (the stock one and a new one I got on Amazon from a german seller), the same is happening: every time these two panels are aligned and touching, the noise appears.

My question is:
Is it possible to assemble the two panels, but stick a thin layer of paper (from a post-it) on the borders, to prevent both panels from producing that sound ? (the main idea is modifying the resonance frequency by altering the structure)​

I'm afraid it will prevent the touchscreen from working, correctly or at all. I'll try that tonight, but I would like to know if anyone has ever done that before.

=> If yes, what problems they encountered, and what solutions they found. If you have any other idea on how to prevent that vibration, I would be happy to hear it (and try it, if possible).