Homebrew Official HID to VPAD

SuperSonicRacer1

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Messages
38
Trophies
0
XP
283
Country
United States
Does HID to VPAD even work? I'm trying to use my HORI Switch Controller, and for the life of me, it won't work. I selected Pro Controller 1 on the left side, pressed a button on the controller, and it just won't do anything, even though I downloaded the Config File. Anyone have any ideas to make it work?
 

emcintosh

On the internet, everyone knows I'm a cat
Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2016
Messages
282
Trophies
0
XP
1,306
Country
United Kingdom
Does HID to VPAD even work? I'm trying to use my HORI Switch Controller, and for the life of me, it won't work. I selected Pro Controller 1 on the left side, pressed a button on the controller, and it just won't do anything, even though I downloaded the Config File. Anyone have any ideas to make it work?

Did you press A *on the Gamepad* once you scrolled to / clicked on the Pro Controller 1 box? It won’t listen to anything you press on the Horipad until you press A on the Gamepad to bring up the ‘Press any button on the controller’ prompt. That’s fooled me a couple of times : p.

Can you get it to act as the Gamepad? I have managed to get both the Horipad and an 8bitdo controller working in that mode, but haven’t experimented much with the Pro Controller mode.
 
Last edited by emcintosh,

xLothwenx

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 9, 2017
Messages
72
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
206
Country
United States
Is it possible to swap the left analog stick and the D-pad? This would make Oddworld: New and Tasty playable. (D-pad would trigger max value analog input, maybe analog stick threshold could be configurable.)
 

thegamingbox

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 25, 2017
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
41
Country
Canada
Unfortunately I'm facing the same issue with RetroArch on PC (e.g. in Super Mario 64) but that hasn't anything to do with HID to VPAD or it's ini files. Just sayin'. :/
not sure if you found out how to make it work properly, but for the switch pro controller to work properly on pc, you need to calibrate it in windows
 

emcintosh

On the internet, everyone knows I'm a cat
Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2016
Messages
282
Trophies
0
XP
1,306
Country
United Kingdom
Is it possible to swap the left analog stick and the D-pad? This would make Oddworld: New and Tasty playable. (D-pad would trigger max value analog input, maybe analog stick threshold could be configurable.)

The '5.d Adding a new controller' part of the config wiki suggests not.

Presumably because digital buttons expect to have a value of zero when not pressed, and add 1, 2, 4 or 8 to a digit when pressed, whereas analog sticks expect neutral to be 80, and either side to be 00 and FF.

If your controller stores D-pad values like a stick (rather than each direction adding 1,2,4,8 to a single digit, or having separate readings for 8 directions and neutral), you should be able to say in the config file that those bytes should register as left stick.

But I'm not sure how you can make the data from a stick register as digital input - I have analog triggers registering as digital ZL and ZR because all the values in one byte after half-way pressed have the first digit's '8' value active, but I only need to register off/on rather than left-neutral-right. You could try using 'DPAD_MODE = DPAD_Absolute_2Values', but this will only register an input when the stick is fully (at least 127/128ths) pressed, and possibly won't register diagonals at all, if your stick doesn't send 00/FF in both axes at 45°.
 

xLothwenx

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 9, 2017
Messages
72
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
206
Country
United States
You reiterated what I said, with more words. Yes, but there exists a possibility for code to be written to do this mapping. With configurable thresholds.
 

emui81

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 19, 2018
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
22
Country
United Kingdom
I keep getting a black screen after applying the patches and the Wii U menu doesn't load. Everything else up to that point works fine. Would anyone happen to know why?
 

Lyrin

Annoying Weaboo Girl
Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2017
Messages
499
Trophies
0
Age
21
Website
www.reddit.com
XP
659
Country
United States

Ehb33

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 30, 2018
Messages
30
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
113
Country
Sweden
Can you use an xbox one controller over usb or would you need to use the pc client? I would really like to just be able to plug in my controller and not have to bother running extra apps on my pc.
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2016
Messages
208
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
my house
XP
175
Country
United States
everytime i use the new version of hid to vpad it freezes on a black screen and also when i try to use the mouse (with older version) on call of duty black ops 2, it doesnt work for aiming but it works on the wii u menu, there is anyway to fix those problems?
 

GregMe

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 3, 2018
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
75
Country
Denmark
My controller isn't recognized anymore and I don't know why. Is there any possibility to reset the WiiU HID settings of the USB-controllers I used before?
 

Franciscop98

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 10, 2018
Messages
37
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
157
Country
Venezuela
Hey, Iv'e got this problem with the program. It just doesn't work. I have a Generic USB controller, and I already made a config for it, the wii u in Wii mode recognizes it, and everything is (suposedly) fine but when I launch HID to Vpad, the controller stops responding. I need help.

The controller is a PS2-Like Blueloong generic controller. I'm leaving the .ini file I made and have been trying to use in .txt form, if it helps. Thanks.
 

Attachments

  • Generic USB Controller.txt
    1.1 KB · Views: 129
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • phalk @ phalk:
    Assembler is something I always wanted to learn
    Gift
  • phalk @ phalk:
    but.... nah
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    No point really.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Even the simplest device these days runs some sort of high level language.
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Veho all the IT stuff i've learned in school has been extremely basic... i knew most of it already
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it's better to learn on your own, it goes much faster than the snail pace they teach you at in school
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    assembly is actually great, gets you to run everything about 80% faster than C massaged code
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    assembler syntax is dead easy, but "how to put pieces together" logic requires to have in mind the original idea, and the CPU layout, and that's like double the work of C stuff. It's best to write C first, add some unit tests, then go assembly, then run the unit tests
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it can run faster than compiled code, but modern compilers are really good at optimization and you need to be even better at assembly to do a better job
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    with that all your assembler base will actually work
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    even on embedded systems, without a damned debugger
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    syntax is easy but the code is hard to read, you can't look at a piece of code and expect to understand it without looking at all the code around it to see how it all works together so it takes much longer to read the code, it takes longer to write it too because what might be 1 line of code in C might be 20 lines of assembly
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    the language is very simple to understand (because it's barely a language at all) understanding how all the instructions work together to form a whole is another matter, in general it's such a pain to work with that i would never recommend it unless you have a need for it. don't listen to this guy and learn assembly just because you want to make your code run faster, you are wasting your time, but if you run into a situation where your code isn't fast enough even after you enabled -Ofast and you NEED it to be faster, then you can consider assembly
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Coto have you tried -Ofast btw? ;)
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I have o fast before but I suspect we are talking different Os lol
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    @The Real Jdbye quite idiotic and frankly, bu
    llshit points as usual you make. Not only because you have no idea what you're talking about, but also because there is proof (both i've seen and maintained) in regards to C and hand-written assembler code, and the speed gain is simply over half the framerate.
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    gbaemu4ds's C ARM and THUMB CPU emulator and GBARunner2's ARM and THUMB handcoded assembly. Just run Yoshi's Island GBA and compare it by yourself.
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    or SnemulDS's C CPU Core vs SnemulDS SnezziDS ARM core. The first running at about 45% (half the speed) vs ~105% (full speed)
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    yeah, keep believing -Ofast will make everything faster.
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    Must ambulate quickly! ~Sonic (a hedgehog)
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Gotta Go Fast diarrhea makes a horrible sound, blue skin and super sick... Probably food poisoning from bad chili dogs.
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Huh Betty white was born on mlk day
    Gift
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: Huh Betty white was born on mlk day