RELEASE HID-Mitm: Rebind buttons and use custom gamepads on your switch!

Discussion in 'Switch - Emulation, Homebrew & Software Projects' started by jakibaki, Apr 3, 2019.

  1. jataple

    jataple Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 11, 2019
    Venezuela
    Now I hace the 64 bits and running perfectly the HID mitm, but with my PS4 controller, playing a game like zelda breath of the wild, the buttons are crazy, one button is another and examples like that, How I can fix it? any tool? anything?
     
  2. skins20

    skins20 Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Aug 5, 2016
    Argentina

    Usage

    Rebinding buttons
    Simply open the Kosmos toolbox, go to the sysmodule menu and continue to the hid-mitm menu from there (it's a simple button-press explained in the bottom bar)

    After that a screen will pop up in which you can select the button you want to rebind and then what you want it to rebind for.
    After you're done, be sure to touch the button in the middle to save your changes.

    You can also configure it manually by editing the /modules/hid_mitm/config.ini file.


    Known issues
    • In some games the "connect gamepad" dialog will pop up every few minutes when playing in multiplayer with a custom gamepad connected
    • There are various problems that happen if hid-mitm and sys-ftpd are enabled at the same time.
    • Some phones have a terrible bluetooth connection which will result in input-delay if using bluetooth gamepads. I can't do anything about that, that's an issue with android.
    • On some wifi-networks iPhones have problems which will result in terrible input delay. You can work around this by just opening a hotspot on your phone and letting the switch connect to that. If you don't want your switch to use up mobile data be sure to enable 90dns.
    • Some gamepads won't have their inputs mapped correctly on android.
      If anyone who has experience with android development wants to get that fixed by adding some kind of "setup interface" it would be greatly appreciated.
    • Tetris 99 doesn't want to recognize custom gamepads for some reason
    • The switch doesn't seem to accept using the custom gamepad as "activity" so the screen will automatically fade out after a while. You can work around that by turning off the auto-screen-off feature in the system settings.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    "Inflation of 445.000%" A little difficult,i think so.

    But personally I think he is Venezuelan but he no longer resides in his country, otherwise, it would be impossible to own a ps4 and a nintendo switch. Unless it is a plug-in from the corrupt government itself ..
     
    lordelan likes this.
  3. SHADOWG22

    SHADOWG22 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 5, 2016
    Canada
    Sorry if this question has been asked before, but for some reason whenever I try to use my DS4 controller for Smash I get "Software was closed because an error occurred". This only happens when hid-mitm is active on my computer or Android (when the controller is connected). If I close the companion app, the error goes away and I can play Smash but without the DS4. The DS4 works with Super Mario Odyssey though. Has anyone experienced this too? Any ideas on why or how to fix it? Thanks.

    I'm using an emuMMC on 8.10 with Kosmos 0.9.2.
     
  4. xeyatan

    xeyatan Member

    Newcomer
    3
    Aug 7, 2007
    That's awesome to hear :-) Good luck on your exams/other projects, jakibaki.

    When this project enables multiple controllers in the future, online local play communities will be possible. :-)
     
    Last edited by xeyatan, Aug 12, 2019
  5. pin

    pin GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    4
    Apr 21, 2009
    Hi, I'm on atmosphere 9.3/ 8.1 fw and have copied across the two folders from the release page and manually edited the config file. Nothing has changed tho - am I missing something? Cheers
     
  6. thesandwichman294

    thesandwichman294 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Aug 17, 2019
    United States
    Also having problems on Kosmos 13.2, edited "/config/hid_mitm/config.ini" then enable it on Kosmos Toolbox and restarted. However, none of the changes were applied. I tried and found that it works on Kosmos 13.1 & Atmosphère 0.9.2 with a clean setup. So I suspect the 0.9.3 update broke something. But I recently got a switch and installed cfw so maybe I'm missing something.
     
  7. Landsraat

    Landsraat Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 18, 2019
    Russia
    Can you share how to use this script on windows?
    Want to use at least a kb for gaming on Switch.
     
  8. Lusterknight

    Lusterknight Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Dec 18, 2018
    United States
    Yeah, same problem here, i can´t manage to get it work with Smash.
     
  9. HoTsHoTz79

    HoTsHoTz79 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    4
    May 9, 2018
    Canada
    slightly off topic but does anyone know if Open Joystick Display (OJDS) is similar to HID-MITM?

    latest Kosmos commit shows a new system module was added "OJDS-NX'

    this is the user guide for OJDS

    https://ojdproject.com/user-guide
     
  10. hippy dave

    hippy dave BBMB

    Member
    15
    Apr 30, 2012
    United Kingdom
    Doesn't look like it does what hid-mitm does (allowing custom input to control the switch) - it looks like it lets you use the switch normally with its own controller(s) and then show what buttons you're pressing on another computer, I guess for twitch streamers and whatever.
     
    HoTsHoTz79 likes this.
  11. jakibaki
    OP

    jakibaki GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    8
    Mar 3, 2017
    Germany
    TR_mahmutpek and lordelan like this.
  12. Spadezilla

    Spadezilla GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    2
    Dec 19, 2013
    United States
    can this be used to disable the screenshot button and if so anyone got a config to copy for that? thanks
     
  13. hippy dave

    hippy dave BBMB

    Member
    15
    Apr 30, 2012
    United Kingdom
    No, it doesn't remap the screenshot button or the home button, probably because they're handled differently by the system.
     
  14. TR_mahmutpek

    TR_mahmutpek medic

    Member
    7
    Jul 28, 2015
    Turkey
  15. lordelan

    lordelan GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    12
    Jan 4, 2015
    Germany
    This is cool and such but tbh I never used the Android forwarding feature to begin with. Instead the only interesting HID-Mitm feature (at least for me) was the button remapping and you would still be the absolute hero if you would implement a way to have individual mappings per game so for example all fun kart racing games have the same button layout.
    Whenever you find the time, jakibaki. :) Would be awesome!
     
    v18281 likes this.
  16. Excesiiv

    Excesiiv Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    Apr 15, 2019
    Ireland
    Ireland, Cork
    Same problem here, latest Kosmos and 8.1.0 with the 8.1.0 updated hid-mitm installed and latest Toolbox. The re-map menu doesn't come up and controllers won't connect through PC or Android. Shame since it worked before updating, and I rely on it since my right Joycon drifts badly. Any ideas?
     
  17. Masana

    Masana Member

    Newcomer
    5
    Aug 12, 2016
    France

    Hello, this does not eliminate the need for hid-mitm because on the one hand it takes an Android 10 and other by hid-mitm can be used with a computer and ethernet cable that avoids the input lag.
    Too bad there is almost no improvement in months, there is still no diagonal on the digital pad ... and the last kosmos toolbox does not bother me more interface to configure my stick. it would be nice to get a similar software to hid to vpad on wiiu.

    ps : google translate
     
  18. Raifel

    Raifel Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 4, 2019
    Poland
    Same here. Is there any progress at getting it working with atmo 0.9.3?
     
  19. Excesiiv

    Excesiiv Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    Apr 15, 2019
    Ireland
    Ireland, Cork
    No, new Atmosphere just broke a few things, either we wait for an update or downgrade.
     
  20. kite21

    kite21 Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Oct 30, 2013
    Mexico
    Eureka, California
    I am on the latest Kosmos, before that I was on stock Atmosphere (it was the latest version). On neither of them has my PS4 controller been able to connect (The prompt to connect never came up on my switch). Does that mean that my problem has been due to using the latest Atmosphere/Kosmos? Thanks.
     
Quick Reply
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...