1. Kennybo15

    OP Kennybo15 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    So my N3ds is on 10.3.0-28u
    what are my options to get my gateway card working? And how do i go about doing it thanks
     
  2. TheDuckMan64

    TheDuckMan64 Chicken nugget.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    355
    Country:
    First things first, what do you want to use the card for?
     
  3. Kennybo15

    OP Kennybo15 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Just to put games on it for my son
     
  4. AceEvo55

    AceEvo55 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Messages:
    181
    Country:
    Canada
    I can't link to anything from my phone, but the general steps are:

    1. Downgrade to 9.2
    2. Follow Gateway's setup PDF on their website

    Admittedly, I feel like I've missed a step, but I think all I used was their setup guide to get myself going, although you do have the extra step of downgrading.

    Word of warning, you only get one chance to downgrade. Any softbrick will force you into recovery, which updates you to 10.4 (or whatever the newest is as the time). Gateway announced a couple hours ago that they're developing a safe (safer, at least) method of downgrading, and you may want to wait for that.

    Good luck, and if you need anything else, just ask!
    Cheers,
    Ace
     
  5. TheDuckMan64

    TheDuckMan64 Chicken nugget.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    355
    Country:
    There is a much cheaper way to do it, which will only require a microSD card with a high capacity (32-64gb), and you won't need a Gateway. All the games are installed directly to the 3ds
     
  6. Kennybo15

    OP Kennybo15 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    I already have one that ive used on his old 3ds
     
  7. AceEvo55

    AceEvo55 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Messages:
    181
    Country:
    Canada
    OP, if you have a Gateway card already, use it. It is (arguably) the best CFW (I realize that's up to debate and personal opinion), and if you already have it, you've spent the money and you should use it. It's also one of the easiest to use and setup.
     
  8. TheDuckMan64

    TheDuckMan64 Chicken nugget.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    355
    Country:
    If you follow this tutorial:
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/tutorial-more-or-less-catch-all-tutorial.407080/

    You will be able to set up an emunand, whether it be gateway, rxtools, NTR CFW, reinand etc

    EDIT:
    Lol didn't realise you already owned a card :P follow the above tutorial and downgrade to 9.2, then you can use your card just fine
     
  9. Nirmonculus

    Nirmonculus GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Messages:
    735
    Country:
    Use Gateway, it is organized and very easy to use.
    The onky difference in 9.2 after downgrading is you just have to access the menu through the browser.
     
  10. TheDuckMan64

    TheDuckMan64 Chicken nugget.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    355
    Country:
    Or you can use the mset exploit or use rxtools and cold boot into emunand! *wink wink*
     
  11. evandixon

    evandixon PMD Researcher
    Developer

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,725
    Country:
    United States
    Rxtools not required. Gateway can coldboot now.
     
  12. TheDuckMan64

    TheDuckMan64 Chicken nugget.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    355
    Country:
    Oh yeah, I forgot :P
     
  13. tony_2018

    tony_2018 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3,107
    Country:
    United States
    For a kid right? GW and load up the 3ds games, not CIA, and hand it over to the kid. No need to wait for it to install. Go have a beer.

    Although the easiest is the sky3ds+, not have to worry about the kid accidentally updating sysnand.
     
  14. pokemoner2500

    pokemoner2500 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    879
    Country:
    United States
    Since when?
     
  15. Nirmonculus

    Nirmonculus GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Messages:
    735
    Country:
    Since 3.6 update I guess, just use homebrew menuhax first and change the boot name, gw provides a .3dsx file now to access the their menu, either through that or going to their site on browser. But OP hasn't installed gw yet, he hasn't even downgraded XD
     
  16. pokemoner2500

    pokemoner2500 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    879
    Country:
    United States
    Oh yeah, thanks!
     
  17. Nirmonculus

    Nirmonculus GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Messages:
    735
    Country:
    No prob XD

    Also Op, maybe you should wait a bit for the downgrade because Gateway will be releasing their own donwgrader app.
    The thing is, we don't know how long gw will take..
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - gateways, needing,