Hey! Going to buy a Wii for the holidays.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by VIStrings, Dec 13, 2010.

Dec 13, 2010
  1. VIStrings
    OP

    Newcomer VIStrings Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Portugal
    I live in Europe and I plan on buying a Wii. In fact, I'm probably going to check out which bundles are being sold near me and decide which one to buy.
    I have a few questions, though.

    Does the Wii come unupdated? Can I choose to update it JUST until 4.2? Or are the updates mandatory? I don't feel like buying one of the two games needed for the softmod.
    Secondly and more importantly, I'm not asking for ANY links, but what exactly CAN I do post-softmod?


    A friend told me that I'd be able to play not only ISOs, but games from the Virtual Console. Is this true?
     
  2. skinneyb

    Newcomer skinneyb Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the system menu will be set to 4.3 i would think if your buying now but may depend on the mfd you can play game boy games sens games using emulator

    there is not a lot you can do before you buy it goggle modmii and have a look
     
  3. ollepoll

    Member ollepoll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    germany
    Country:
    Germany
    The wii will mostly be pre-updated to 4.3 so you will need indiana jones or yu-gi-oh.


    after softmod you can: Homebrew, backups, vc/wiiware
     
  4. Nintendo_Chick

    Member Nintendo_Chick GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    386
    Country:
    United States
    You can play backups, but not from discs, only from an external hd
     
  5. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    1 Most likely 4.3 but not neccesarily
    2 online can only update to newst but games can carry a older update
    3 yes but not anymore if you softmod
    4 run backup or import form dvd (with old drives) and from usb, run homebrew media players games and tools, backup your wii, ...
    5 yes
    6 yes

    Id suggest installing hbc+cios19 and then updating and installing hbc(again)+cios20
    but there are many guides
     
  6. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,121
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Those new bundles (black or red wii's) all come with 4.3. For older firmware, it's probably better to find a second hand wii. If not, you have to have one of those games to softmod it (perhaps renting is an idea...you won't need the games anymore after doing the softmod).

    The updates aren't mandatory. The wii doesn't have one internal BIOS thingy like a PC, but multiple (called IOS'es). A "firmware" is usually a collection of updates for those IOS'es as well as a few programs that use it (the system menu and the shopping channel come to mind). However, it's perfectly possible to update 'just' those things without harming anything else (an official firmware update automatically sweeps softmod stuff).

    What you can do: a LOT. Playing backups from USB drive (so no more disc swapping), multimedia, emulators and other homebrew are the most popular choices.


    It's possible to play virtual console games, yes. Though it might be better to check out emulators (a type of homebrew): they allow you to easily play all sorts of games for previous consoles (including the virtual console games that nintendo released on the shopping channel).
     
  7. Magsor

    Member Magsor I am watching you

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    +1 for second hand wii. Old wiis are better than new wiis. Keep your money to buy a couple extra wiimotes (brand new).
     
  8. smash_brew

    Member smash_brew I may or may not have fallen

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    708
    Country:
    United States
    there is no problem with purchasing a new wii unless you want to run your backups from disc. any new wii is going to come with the d3-2 drive which is incapable of reading dvd-r's. you can still run your backups from usd or sd but not from dvd. if you want to burn discs to play then get an older used wii or an older replacement drive for the new wii. if you don't mind running backups from usb/sd then any new wii will be just fine. you can do anything on a new wii that you can on an old wii other then read from dvd.
     
  9. Magsor

    Member Magsor I am watching you

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    If you want to play gamecube backups...
     
  10. smash_brew

    Member smash_brew I may or may not have fallen

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    708
    Country:
    United States
    thats the only drawback. swap the drive or just wait for emukids sdboot then....or buy a wode.
     
  11. Fudge

    Banned Fudge Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,655
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    No BootMii either. Also on newer Wiis (LU64+) you cannot downgrade lower than 3.4 or else you will brick your Wii.
     
  12. smash_brew

    Member smash_brew I may or may not have fallen

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    708
    Country:
    United States
    you can still install bootmii, but not at boot2. you'd have to back quite a while to get a wii that you can install bootmii at boot2. and there really is no reason to downgrade at all. down grading isn't a good idea but if you know what your doing you can do it manually without a problem.
     
  13. ToneEQ

    Member ToneEQ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    South Wales
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I recently picked up a third Wii console at my local Cash Generator (UK cash trade in) shop. Only cost £60, 1/3 of the cost of a new one. It was on firmware 3.4 and BootMii could be installed to boot2, couldn't be happier!
     

Share This Page