Here's a Fix for programs that cant find the new HBC

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by giantpune, Sep 30, 2009.

  1. giantpune
    OP

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, so with the new HBC, and it's new tid, old apps that try to load HAXX will be unusuccessful. This means the preloader .29 will not be able to autoboot to HBC. Also changed in the new HBC is the removal of the "reload" button. So now, if you have a IP address change while HBC is loaded, you must exit to the system menu and restart it to get network capabilities for HBC. here is my fix for these things.

    http://www.mediafire.com/?jjjnbmtzygz

    this is just simply a dol that boots the JODI tid. i have put it in a channel with the HAXX id. this means that you will have 2 HBC channels on your system menu, so just hide this one on the back page. i think it's a small price to pay for being able to fix this little annoyance. obviously this channel will be deleted my system menu 4.2 unless it has been patched.

    and to reboot HBC without exiting, just boot my dol.


    EDIT>>>>>>>
    Just thought about it, and telling preloader to autoboot this dol will also boot the new HBC and wont put a new channel on your system menu.
     


  2. laurozza

    Member laurozza GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Country:
    Italy
    Thanks giantpune, it's great!
     
  3. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    Hmm can't you create this as a hidden channel like DVDX?
     
  4. beegee7730

    Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, I think somebody released an application to make hidden channels.
     
  5. laurozza

    Member laurozza GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Country:
    Italy
  6. giantpune
    OP

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    the hidden channels are not the right type. hidden are type 0x00010008 and the only hbc is type 0x00010001. so apps loading the HBC tell the wii to boot 0x10001/HAXX. if this was hidden(0x10008/HAXX) it wouldn't get found any easier than the new 0x10001/JODI does. It would take a patch/hack of the system menu to make it not show this channel. and i don't know too much about making those.

    The only way i can think of to make this work and be hidden is to make a banner that looks like the empty channel place holders in the system menu.
     
  7. laurozza

    Member laurozza GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Country:
    Italy
    Thanks for the explanation.
    Well...leave the channel on the back page is not a big problem. ^^
     
  8. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    Stupid Wii. Why can't hidden channels just be normal channel with a hide-flag in the TMD?
     
  9. giantpune
    OP

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    If you just want to fix preloader and don't care about other apps, you can set my dol to autoboot from preloader. it should boot the new HBC and not put a new channel on the system menu.
     
  10. Yyhhggtt

    Member Yyhhggtt GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    In my Wii at Saskatchewan.
    Country:
    Canada
    Very, very useful! Thanks I'll be using this, check out my Sign,
     
  11. beav1s

    Newcomer beav1s Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    United States
    just run the wad through newest wadder 3.1 beta
    it has bug where it doesnt save the icon and banner
    no modifying of anything necessary, simply load wad in wadder, save, and voila, you have an invisible channel
    doesnt show up on wii menu, in data management it shows up as ????
    however the dol functionality of channel works fine, and if you launch the channel via title launcher like in usbloader gx, the dol loads fine
    finally wadder works for something [​IMG]
     
  12. giantpune
    OP

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    if somebody wants do run this through the magic wader beta and make it invisible, i will add it to the first post. i don't have that broken wadder, and i don't want to install it just for 1 channel
     
  13. Digital1980

    Member Digital1980 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    499
    Country:
    United States
    thanks for this!

    How do I remove the installed file from preloader if I ever need to?
     
  14. WiiThoko

    Member WiiThoko GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone willing to do this, and upload it? [​IMG]
     
  15. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    use nandclean.
     
  16. beav1s

    Newcomer beav1s Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    United States
    meh, i tried the wad and created a banner brick, however when i launch it through usbgx it still works as described prev
    obv wadder is buggy and im not sure what its actually doing to the wads, ive tried creating various wads before with 3.1 beta and either end up with an invisible channel or banner brick. ill mess around some more and if i get a working wad as described in my previous post, ill upload it.
     
  17. giantpune
    OP

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    i tried it, too, and made a pretty wii-flavored brick. maybe it needs a different opening.bnr without animations and sound for it to not be a bricker.
     
  18. Digital1980

    Member Digital1980 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    499
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks bro.

    That's a new one to me. I appreciate the knowledge.

    Have you been updating your Softmod guide?
     
  19. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    no im waiting to see whats good, i need a copy of indiana jones or smash bros so i can experiment hacking my spare wii from scratch.
    then i can post my method for 4.2
     
  20. Ssseth

    Member Ssseth GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    221
    Country:
    Canada
    Good stuff, I'll be using this for sure.
    Can you please clarify this statement? Now sure hot to "tell" preloader this.
     

Share This Page