Here is how to access PSVita's Recovery Menu

Discussion in 'PS Vita - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by masterchan777, Dec 28, 2011.

  1. masterchan777
    OP

    masterchan777 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    4
    Oct 1, 2007
    World Wide Web
    It looks like Sony has enabled easy access to PSVita's Recovery Menu to perform some "service" tasks such as fixing a corrupted file system, upgrading the firmware, formatting memory sticks and more.

    Here is how to access the Recovery Menu :

    1- Completely Switch off the PSVita (Press Power Button for 10 seconds, not a standby).
    2- Press and hold "R" + Power + PS (PlayStation Button).

    Wait a few moments and you'll be greeted with the Recovery Menu, which I need to remind you to proceed with caution through its different functions.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R532NpDMQhw


    Here is an image of the Recovery Menu in English (credit to junn)

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Foxi4

    Foxi4 On the hunt...

    Global Moderator
    26
    Sep 13, 2009
    Poland
    Gaming Grotto
    This is... pretty damn sweet.

    Looks like an unbrickable (or at least harder to brick) system to me.
     
  3. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks

    Moderator
    21
    GBAtemp Patron
    DinohScene is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Oct 11, 2011
    Antarctica
    Восторг
    Hold R + Power.

    Thats the same as the pandora hack on the Phat PSP's.

    Pretty sweet tho.
    Hopefully this will be left in.
     
  4. s4mid4re

    s4mid4re  

    Member
    3
    Apr 2, 2011
    United States
    Also the PS (Home) button for the vita's recovery menu.

    Anybody know what "recreate the database" (second option) is for?
     
  5. Foxi4

    Foxi4 On the hunt...

    Global Moderator
    26
    Sep 13, 2009
    Poland
    Gaming Grotto
    As far as I remember, the button combination could be changed on the PSP to your liking.
     
  6. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks

    Moderator
    21
    GBAtemp Patron
    DinohScene is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Oct 11, 2011
    Antarctica
    Восторг
    Iirc. you could change it after you have booted into the recovery menu of M33.
    My mind is a bit blank when it comes to the early days of PSP hacking ;p
     
  7. zachtheninja

    zachtheninja Honorary Ninja

    Member
    2
    Aug 28, 2011
    United States
    Texas
    !!!
    Maybe this could be used for ps-vita soft-modding?...
     
  8. Foxi4

    Foxi4 On the hunt...

    Global Moderator
    26
    Sep 13, 2009
    Poland
    Gaming Grotto
    Yeah, Sony would definatelly give hackers a flasher to make their lives easier. Naaah...
     
    1 person likes this.
  9. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks

    Moderator
    21
    GBAtemp Patron
    DinohScene is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Oct 11, 2011
    Antarctica
    Восторг
    LOL
    Sony.......
     
  10. prowler

    prowler Sony

    Member
    10
    Jul 14, 2009
    Zimbabwe
    Ragol
    erm, PS3 also has a 'recovery menu' like this, nothing to get excited about.


     
  11. s4mid4re

    s4mid4re  

    Member
    3
    Apr 2, 2011
    United States
    I was just wondering the difference between it and "system restore" (fourth option). /:

    I mean what's the 'recreate database' supposed to do for you, that the system restore doesn't?

    EDIT: I'm also confused as to what the 'database' is supposed to be for the Vita...
     
  12. prowler

    prowler Sony

    Member
    10
    Jul 14, 2009
    Zimbabwe
    Ragol
    System restore restores the PSP to factory settings. Rebuilding the database just rebuilds it, incase something becomes corrupt or things start to slow down.
    I'm confused at why you're confused.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Database
     
    1 person likes this.
  13. junn

    junn .

    Member
    2
    Sep 12, 2009
    United States
    .
    PSV recovery menu.in english.
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
    1 person likes this.
  14. chaosdarkneo

    chaosdarkneo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    2
    Sep 13, 2009
    United States
    How did people even find out these button combinations? Are they in the manual, tucked in a tiny little corner somewhere?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice