Help with slowdown in Neogeo DS

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Bergunzo, Jul 20, 2008.

Jul 20, 2008
  1. Bergunzo
    OP

    Member Bergunzo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    Italy
    Country:
    Italy
    I downloaded neogeo ds and putted it on my card. Later I succesfully converted all metal slug games (1,2,X,3,4,5),but putting them in my G6, I can't play them without slowdowns except for metal slug 1 that works fine.
    In fact playing them I experience many slowdowns that make 'em unplayable.
    Can you say why I can't run properly all the roms?

    Many Thanks
     
  2. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
    You cant run ll roms at full speed, just not possible.
     
  3. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    There will be some slowdown in the games. You can try toggling the CPU speed back and forth.....believe it or not, the slow CPU speed tends to work best for most games.

    If you have a slot2 card with built-in GBA memory, you should also get some speed ups since NeoDS will use it to cache stuff for faster access.
     
  4. Bergunzo
    OP

    Member Bergunzo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    Italy
    Country:
    Italy
    I don't mean normal slowdowns, but..... HUGE slowdowns. Every time a enemy shows up the game blocks for about 4 seconds, then it goes forward of a frame and it get more 4 seconds and again and again.

    I don't think that's normal, In fact I already sayed that the first metal slug works perfectly and it's from the same site from where i downloaded other games.
     
  5. test84

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    Maybe thats why you are using a SLOT-2 device.
     
  6. CWar

    Member CWar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    Country:
    Singapore
    You might want to try using different bios. Google it. I was actually using some old bios I downloaded years ago with the NeoDS. Keeps on crashing on converted games. Once I got some new ones, no problems. Most games are still gonna play between 40 to 60fps.
     
  7. Bergunzo
    OP

    Member Bergunzo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    Italy
    Country:
    Italy
    I just tried but it's always the same ARGHHHHHHHHH I WANT METAL SLUG 3 ON DS!! Please help!
     
  8. Bergunzo
    OP

    Member Bergunzo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    Italy
    Country:
    Italy
  9. xerces

    Member xerces GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Metro Detroit
    Country:
    United States

Share This Page