Help with Saves on Supercard Mini DS

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by twistywizard, Jun 1, 2006.

Jun 1, 2006
  1. twistywizard
    OP

    Newcomer twistywizard Newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Got my patched NDS Lite today, flashed with flashme.

    Also a MiniSD Supercard.

    I have run the software and patched a ROM (New Super Mario) it created my file and also the SAV file. Copied them both to my SD card and Mario runs fine.

    I am confused though. Can I just save via the game itself or do I have to use a button combo to save state? Or can I do both? Bit confused [​IMG]

    Also what is the button combo for saving if there is one?

    Cheers Guys
     
  2. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Mine saves by itself, i'm not sure if its an option I chose in the patching program.
     
  3. twistywizard
    OP

    Newcomer twistywizard Newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How do you mean Saves by itself? What at varying intervals?
     
  4. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I mean it saves automatically on the mini-SD card.
     
  5. twistywizard
    OP

    Newcomer twistywizard Newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I see so you basically treat the NDS rom as if you had a NDS cart plugged in and just save when the game allows.

    I think from having a read the button combo is for GBA games
     
  6. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I believe you do with GBA games (L+R+A+SELECT when you playing a game.) but its different with DS games.
     
  7. twistywizard
    OP

    Newcomer twistywizard Newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep having a good read has revealed this [​IMG]

    Cheers
     
  8. lazyman

    Newcomer lazyman Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    I think I read somewhere that the DS game saves are written to SRAM in the supercard when you use the games own saving interface. Apparently the supercard copies that to the appropriate .sav file on the removable memory card only when it gets back to the main menu. I could be wrong though, and my info could be out of date.

    Can anyone clarify?
     
  9. MC DUI

    Member MC DUI GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,916
    Location:
    Newcastle, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    You definitely don't have to go back to the main menu in order to have DS games save, I just turn off my DS after having saved in game. (Has SupercardSD)
     
  10. lazyman

    Newcomer lazyman Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    Arr but that's the thing: when you do eventually turn your ds on again that is when the supercard writes the save game to the memory card. Up until that point, from what I understand, the save game is just sitting in battery powered SRAM in the supercard. If it is then I would guess that if you left it too long before turning your ds back on your save game would actually be lost, however I have no idea how long that would be.
     
  11. faceless

    Member faceless pink sugar heart attack

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    567
    Country:
    United States
    the Supercard saves DS savegames directly to the SD/CF Card
     
  12. Alastair

    Member Alastair GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    578
    Country:
    Australia
    20 seconds.

    I don't know about with DS but with GBA you have to manually save it to the save state.
    You can do it in-game (a habit of mine before turning it off) with L+R+Select+A
    OR
    You can turn the DS off and on within 20 secs. then go right to 'Saves' and manually save it.

    I'm yet to get a DS though...

    If it auto-saves for DSs that would be amaaaazing [​IMG]
     
  13. MC DUI

    Member MC DUI GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,916
    Location:
    Newcastle, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    It does indeed autosave with DS games.
     
  14. lazyman

    Newcomer lazyman Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    I'm sorry to keep dragging this up, but it concerns me and I still haven't found any definitive info. In the M3 adaptor Vs Supercard article on this very site it says:

    This seems to be saying that the DS save games arn't written to the flash memory card immediately. If this info is out of date can someone point me towards some better info?
     
  15. meangreenie

    Banned meangreenie Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    639
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    With Supercard, saves must be writing directly to the memory card because most Supercards have no battery to hold the save data in saver memory.

    And there are no save issues with Supercard (I know I have one) on any game apart from 'Madagascar' (fix is save to a DS cart or patch it with wrg-loadme and use the QPC method.."for SC without battery"... to save)
     
  16. Nocturno

    Member Nocturno GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    346
    Country:
    Venezuela
    all supercards have a battery, at least the miniSD ones, if yours doesn´t have a batery them it is a fake supercard..

    now I have a question, I just got a supercard, and I´m testing it playing the new mario game, I played a few worlds, then I saved the game, turn the DS off and on, started tha game again and the save was right there,, them I went to the supercard menu again,, there´s a SAVER menu, and if I press A on a save archive a message appears,
    "Do you save to SD? A--yes B--no"
    if I press A, the menu freezes with weird colors and if I start the game again, my saves is lost..

    Why is that?
     
  17. Smiths

    Member Smiths AKAIO Person of Interest

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    The land of Dairy Queen
    Country:
    United States
    I have a feeling the "Saver" and the "Do you save to SD" is if you didn't patch a game to "save to SD" in the SuperPass application.

    I haven't tested this theory, but I think it's like if you didn't select that option, then your ROM will save to a DS Cart in the DS slot.
    So when you do the "Saver" option i think it takes the save of a DS cart and writes it to the save file on the SD?

    Again, I have no clue about this. But I know I lost my Mario 64 save by accidentally selecting "Saver" and doing "Do you save to SD?" for Slot 1. The SAV file it wrote was 256KB of 00s.

    Thankfully there was an ARMax game save with a similar amount of stars to what I had, so I used their program to download it, and then converted it to the SuperCard .SAV format using a command line tool.

    Still was pissed to lose my save over a random option I have no clue about. Now I just avoid the "Saver" menu.
     
  18. CatScam

    Member CatScam ScamaRama!

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    588
    Country:
    United States
    I did the same as you newbie, & lost a save because of that save section.
    I should read up, on it but because everything works great I have not bothered.
    But I did see some ware that the save section is for GBA games only, if you don’t
    use the save button combo.
     
  19. xxx_boy

    Newcomer xxx_boy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    when u convert your rom, choose real time save.
    and you can go to supercard's help, it shows how to save
     
  20. DcJack

    Newcomer DcJack Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Sweden
    Does a fake Supeprcard mini-Sd give corrupt data when you try to save? Mine alteast does and im not happy about it the seller will send a real one atleast. I need to learn to write correct English.
     

Share This Page